Even More Warmed Over Leftovers…

Hello, kiddies.

I finally got the chance to put up this jam packed post.  Get comfortable and be sure to look at the extra links…

I am really enjoying the respite and everything it has to offer. I even got the gumption to bring Fufu Stew Too back from the dead with two new posts. Check ‘em out by clicking on the images if you like.

Now, as the times we live in continue to deteriorate (thanks a lot to those who already know who they are and what they’re doing wrong), I believe the only thing that really keeps me together anymore, my wife, family and friends notwithstanding, is music. News depresses me these days. Really, why can’t people just get along… I am trying to slowly ration the new scores, especially since I can’t afford another huge digging trip for a while. In doing so, I came up with this. Some old friends make their scheduled reappearance in this assortment of 45 rpm happiness. For the sake of relevance, I will say that it’s how the music feels at the time it’s felt, meaning that since I need music fed into my ears almost intravenously, oh well, you know! 8KC, one of my Mixcloud colleagues summed it up very nicely by saying this: “So many get caught up in the image of the music that they lose touch with the true source of the music, the Soul. It’s not about how expensive your 45’s records are but how you play them. You play from the Soul!” The quote was lifted from this post here. Truer words have never been spoken. As always, I do indeed put my soul into each mix that I make, and the tunes just have to flow together which may explain why each one feels the way it does at the time it’s felt. In any event, enjoy another heaping helping.


01 Hoochie Coochie Man-Skip Easterling (Instant)
02 Buster Browne-Willie Mitchell (Hi)
03 Boogaloo Tramp-A.C. Reed (Nike)
04 Here Come Da Judge-The Buena Vistas (Marquee)
05 Jerk It-The Gypsies (Old Town)
06 Hide Nor Hair-Earl Grant (Decca)
07 The Flea-The Five Du Tones (One Der Ful)
08 Misery-The Dynamics (Big Top)
09 Love Is Alright-Cliff Nobles & Co. (Phil LA Of Soul)
10 The Gallop-The Chevelles (Flaming Arrow)
11 On The Dock Of The Bay-The Da Kars (Josie)
12 Desiree-The Charts (Wand)
13 Hallways Of My Mind-The Dells (Cadet)
14 If This Is Love-The Percisions (Drew)
15 I Can Feel The Ice Melting-The Parliaments (Revilot)
16 I Got Lucky-The Ideals (St. Lawrence)
17 I Call It Love-The Manhattans (Carnival)
18 Soul Time-Jackie Wilson (Brunswick)
19 Lost In The Mood Of Changes-James Brown (Smash)
20 Do Do Do Bah Ah-Bert Keyes (Clock)
21 Dancin’ Master-The Bandwagon (Epic)
22 If You Love Her-Bobby Taylor & The Vancouvers (Gordy)
23 Decator Street-Patti Labelle & The Blue Bells (Newtown)
24 Them Terrible Boots-The Orlons (Cameo)
25 Treat Her Right-Roy Head (Back Beat)

Speaking of which, I recently discovered it has been a year since I joined mixcloud. Time continues to fly, huh? I wanted to share some of the exclusive type stuff that I’ve been putting up over there, but since the embed feature is on the apparent fritz, I’ll have to do so in another way. Just the same, I can’t recommend it enough. Mixcloud is a beautiful place. I hope they never go away!

Well we’ve come to the end of another episode. Everything I did I really enjoyed immensely, and I plan to continue in that enjoyment for as long as the free time holds up. So far so good. Well,’til next time, have fun(k) and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

Leave a comment