Grab Bag (a long time coming)…

Hello, kiddies (finally, I get to say that again, I’m excited).

…too many things happened in the last several weeks. Too many fallen icons. Too much workload. Too much politics. Not enough patience! I can only hope that it will get better. Being able to attend last month’s fire haul made it a little easier to endure for a few hours. I managed to score some much needed pieces this time, some of which I’ve been patiently waiting to get my hot little hands on for over five years! I’m gonna thank the three vendors I visited for making it happen. I only know Gary by name for now, and I know the nice lady who I believe to be the one who organises the show each month. There were actually two more who also had lots more heaters for sale. Back to the nice lady, I have to thank her especially for going to bat for me so that I could get one in particular for much less than its sticker price of $60 USD. It’s the first (and more than likely not the last) record that I will ever spend more than $30 USD on. Of course, I digress. In any event, I finally got to make a couple of mixes with the fruits. Here’s one of them.

Grab Bag by The Soul Chef's Fufu Stew on Mixcloud


01 Alvin’s Bag-Alvin Cash (Toddlin’ Town)
02 Afro Twist Time-Jerryo (Shout)
03 Mini Skirts-Bobby Kool (Expo)
04 The Bird-Jimmy McGriff (Capitol)
05 It’s Your Thing-Senor Soul (Whiz)
06 New Mother Nature-The Friends Of Distinction (RCA)
07 Groove N Move-Jr. Walker & The All Stars (Soul)
08 Good Grease-Mark III Trio (Wingate)
09 Finally Caught Up With Jody-Big John Hamilton (SSS)
10 O Me-O My-O-Lee Dorsey (Polydor)
11 You Must Have Put Something In Your Love-The Persuaders (Win Or Lose)
12 Fever In The Funkhouse-General Crook (Wand)
13 Funk In Wagnal-Hamilton, Joe Frank & Reynolds (Dunhill)
14 Love Bug Leave My Heart Alone- Martha & The Vandellas (Gordy)
15 Cat’s Got Her Tongue-Joe Tex (Dial)
16 Stinger-Freddy (Creeper) Robinson-Cobblestone
17 Take It Easy Greazy-Billy Guy & The Coasters (Sal/Wa)
18 Funkadelic Sound-Little Beaver (Cat)
19 Let Me Get Close To You-Jerry Washington (Excello)
20 Funky Funky (Hot Pants)-Wee Willie Mason (Jay Walking)
21 Cherry-Jimmy McGriff (Solid State)
22 Crabcakes-Gunga Din (Valise)
23 JM’s Funk Factory-JM’s Funk Factory (Saluda)
24 I Wanna Jump-Ike & Tina Turner (Minit)
25 Hot Dog-Mongo Santamaria (Columbia)

and now for the closing commentary, because this time there’s plenty. I’ll try and keep it moving though.

For all intents and purposes, I have made my way to the extreme left. If you recall my rant about the 2010 midterm election debacle, well as we have witnessed, it’s gets better. The GOP candidate nonsense just makes me want to do and say unthinkable things. I intend to add another widget on the right with links to the truth as soon as I can. For your entertainment and your enlightenment, because there are so few who actually tell the truth. The new axis of evil is recruiting new members daily, and true to form, we the people are in huge trouble as a result. “YES WE MUST!!!”

For starters, check out the Best of the Left Podcast…

It’s only a matter of time before the next respite begins. I’ll do my best to make it fruitful. My ride’s slowly on the mend, so I need some new entertainment within. Y’all know the rest. I’ll also be playing another round of catch up. For those of you who check the Fufu Stew on Mixcloud link at the top of the page, you know that I have been posting there. It’s easier to do so because I have been relegated to a much slower internet connection since moving to the city, and yes, I’m pissed about that. I’ll put up some of those posts here in the coming days just because. And speaking of mixcloud, I know I do it all the time, but I really have to thank a couple of mixcloud regulars in particular who have provided me with a lot of incentive and inspiration over the last several months. Essentially, they helped me to rediscover what it is that keeps me here. More on that in a future post, I assure you.

In any event, I thank you all for your continued patience and your patronage, even in the midst of my extended hiatus. Thanks also for taking a few minutes to read this far. Until the next time, and yes, next time will be much sooner than last time, I promise, have fun(k) and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

4 thoughts on “Grab Bag (a long time coming)…

  1. Hi Vincent, good to see you’re back on your funky feet! I will grab the bag, looks ideal for listening while on the road [:-) Take it easy, stay your bad self andabove all, be safe.

  2. glad to see you back! i don’t know if i ever commented before–sorry if not, and i will endeavor to do better. this mix looks exceptional and … i’m too discouraged about politics to even breathe. thanks for the music and for trying to keep us thinking about what truly matters.

  3. Thanks Vincent–Grab Bag was worth the wait!
    Unfortunately, I have seen too many good music blogs turn into political blogs. I hope that doesn’t happen here, even though I agree with your editorial. In times like these, the world needs Stew!

Leave a Reply

