Head in the clouds part two (including Po’ Boy)

Hello, kiddies.

First and foremost, I hope you all had a great weekend, you know, with Record Store Day and 4:20 day and all… and Earth Day too, imagine that! I sadly could not participate in the former for the obviously painful reasons… I won’t even comment on the latter. I do have a remedy for that though, I’ll get to that sooner than later, but allow me another quick indulgence if you will. It won’t disappoint, I promise.

I kinda got away from posting mixes with non-vinyl sources, and for good reason…they sound great and all, but the times have definitely changed in the land of blog over the past year. I kind of promised myself that I wouldn’t break out the soapbox too much, better yet, I wouldn’t let the soapbox get in the way of serving up the funky eats. Suffice it to say, the message is still very much in need of being spread, but there are so many out there that really tell the truth that very much needs to be heard. I hope you all can keep up with the Best of the Left podcast. It’s the best way to keep one angry enough… I’ll still do what I do in the name of doing my part though, and that’s the best I can do since I am clearly a victim of the madness.

Anyway, on to the meat of the conversation with another from the holidaze sessions.

This one was done around Thanksgiving of last year whilst hanging out with a friend and a bottle of something, most likely some sweet Belgian nectar… after much self doubt and (at the time) jonesing for some new 45′s. I was inspired to do it this way by a couple of my esteemed colleagues from the mixcloud fam. I’ve name-checked them before, sure, and will do so again in good fashion before too long. More on that in a bit…

In any event, this is the result. When the bottle was tipped, I was happy. It’s a collection of some great tunes that most of you should know well, and some you may not have heard in some years. It was also a means of free advertisment for the good folks at Freestyle Records. They also hold it down at Mixcloud too… check it out for some nice mixes and some exclusive ish from their rich catalog, and of course, please support their efforts if you are able. It’s also the answer to a question posed by the one called iDiO7 SAVAN7…I do owe a debt for the inspiration, the will to keep the soul a rollin’…

At the least, I hope you’ll enjoy Po’ Boy, either at your leisure, on demand with the player thingie down there, or here.

Nasty-Deep Street Soul
Micro Popcorn-Calypso King & The Soul Investigators
Heartbreaker-Boogaloo Investigators
Bag Of Soul-Soul Saints Orchestra
I Know What It Is-Shaolin Temple Defenders
Two Beat Beast-Speedometer
Let The Music Take Your Mind-The Soul Providers
Tramp-The Grits
Sexy Popcorn Pot-Breakestra
Heavy Soul-The Sound Stylistics
Hook And Sling Meets The Funky Superfly-Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings
Don’t Joke With A Hungry Man-Spanky Wilson
I’m Coming Back To)The Coming Back-Osaka Monaurail
Stop The Bus-Funkshone
Cressy St. Breakdown-Cookin’ On 3 Burners
Lover And A Friend-Speedometer Feat. Myles Sanko & Ria Currie
What Have You Done For Me Lately Pts. 1&2-Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings
Hot Funky And Sweaty-The Organites
Promised Land Pt. 2-Sugarman 3
Crazy Legs-The Grits
Hippy Skippy Moon Strut-The Mighty Showstoppers

and now for the closing commentary…

By request, I re-upped this post too. I will do the other two soon. it’s a good way to gear up for the next session. There’s no denying that it’s gonna be tough keeping it all together, all things considered, but I do intend to press on until an unforeseen inevitability comes along. Again, the best I can do. I intend to be back in some capacity though, so until then, have fun(k), and please be safe.

Peace and blessings

The first of May is coming… please join the fight in whatever way you are able.

2 thoughts on “Head in the clouds part two (including Po’ Boy)

  1. Pingback: Active Music Listening Thursday August 9,2012 | The Cross Pollinator

Leave a Reply

