Take this too, brothers and sisters… May it serve you well.

Hello, kiddies.

Spring is finally starting to show itself around here. I am so amped because the warmer weather means only one thing… YARD SALE SEASON!!! In our neighbourhood you can find at least ten yard sales on one street at one time. Most of them contain records, usually vocals or classic rock, but there’s that rare occasion. This past weekend I mentioned an impromptu trip to Fells Point to finally visit the place known as The Sound Garden. The weather was cool but nice for a leisurely stroll. While walking down the main drag we notice a couple of shops that I used to frequent many years earlier and then a sandwich board which read “Old Guru Records”. All that was there was a wrought iron gate with a buzzer attached to the top of it. I was game since the marquis read 45s in pretty bold print so I pressed it. A man walked down a long corridor to open the gate and invite us in. The walk to the actual building seemed to take forever because my excitement was getting the better of me. We walk into a small room with bins, crates and buckets of potential treasures that I dove into as if it were a large body of water. You see the obsession, as late as it came on, is quite the turn on for me. I made certain to use all the education that was given to me over the past couple of years when choosing my selections. I made my purchase and proceeded to leave with a stack of crusty records. Nothing that a bottle of distilled water and loving care can’t cure. We had lunch at the really popular eatery down the street which kind of disappointed me. I’ve heard nothing but good things about the food there but Leslie and I found it to only be below average. The waitress did let me keep the pint glass I was using. An official Stella Artois which happens to be my favourite beer these days. We proceeded to the Sound Garden which upon first glance looked like the typical corprate dump that I so detest. I immediately looked for the Various Artists sections and proceeded to walk out having spent twice as much as I did at the Guru’s! What a day. I found so many damned records that it was almost criminal. The obsession again, the obsession. I’m just glad you all let me ramble on like this. For the occasion, I have put together a small mix from the maximum rotation pile that I hope will serve you all just fine. For the past few days I’ve been playing these records constantly. Each one pays a small tribute to some of the fine bloggers and mom and pop shop owners from the past and present who educated and inspired me. While some of the records may have seen better days, I don’t mind because just like a fine piece of leather, the creases form fit to your body and just feel really comfortable. Not to mention when I started doing my homework over at Craig’s and now Gemm, it became apparent that I got real lucky to find what I did. I haven’t spent this much on records since way back in the days when I used to buy Gothic CDs from England and France at thirty to forty bucks a clip. To me it’s worth every cent and more, so here we go.

“Take this too, brothers and sisters, may it serve you well…”

01 Don’t Want To Sit Down-O.V. Wright (Back Beat)
02 The Camel-Cliff Nobles & Co. (Phil LA Of Soul)
03 One Room Paradise-The Raeletts (Tangerine)
04 Hunk Of Funk-Gene Dozier & The Brotherhood (Minit)
05 Bingo-G.T. + 4 (The Groovy Label)
06 Sehorns Farms-The Meters (Josie)
07 Hogwash-Earnest Jackson (Stone)
08 Detroit-Paul Humphrey & His Cool Aid Chemists (Lizard)
09 Tuck’s Theme-Bill Deal & The Rhondells (Heritage)
10 Super Cool-Black Heat (Atlantic)
11 Sweep Around Your Own Back Door-Lulu (Atco)
12 Viva Tirado-El Chicano (Gordo)
13 The Goose That Laid The Golden Egg-The Parliaments (Revilot)
14 Crumbs On The Table-The Glass House (Invictus)
15 Baby Let Me Kiss You-King Floyd (Chimneyville)
16 Ain’t It Good Enough-Nu Sounds Express LTD. (Silver Dollar)
17 Engine No. 9-Wilson Pickett (Atlantic)
18 One For Bess-Gene Dozier & The Brotherhood (Minit)
19 Sidewinder-Ray Charles (Tangerine)
20 Soul Express Pt. 2-The Ramrods (Rampage)

As I am preparing this post, I am reminded that I had to tell you about the Midnight Special DVDs we got in the mail a couple of weeks ago. The first installment contained such standout performances from Al Green, David Bowie, Aretha Franklin just to name a few. The Labelle performance was absolutely phenomenal. We are looking forward to the next shipment which should arrive in another couple of weeks. I really recommend it if you’re up late one night watching paid commercials to beat insomnia and this one comes on, watch it and buy the set. It’s worth it. Also, If you haven’t picked up a copy of these outstanding CDs, please do yourself the favour. You’ll be glad you did.
scan0006.jpg “Good God: A Gospel Funk Hymnal” available at Numero Group’s website
mfsb.JPG
 “MuthaFunkinSonOfaBitch” available at Funkadelphia Records’ website

I’d like to take this time to thank Red Kelly for the really informative conversation we had over his most recent post. God bless you Curtis Ousley… Please continue to visit and support the fine family of blogs under the Red Kelly umbrella.
Look for some really nifty recipes in the coming week as I have the oven on full blast. It may even be as early as tomorrow, who knows. I’m really amped about spring this year, you’ll see. Until next time…

Peace and blessings.

One thought on “Take this too, brothers and sisters… May it serve you well.

Leave a Reply

