Dy No Mite!

Hello, kiddies.

First off, let me say thanks to all of you who snagged up the Slick On The Corner package last night. It is by far the best response I’ve seen with over 100 d/l’s in less than 24 hours. Once again, I must be doing something right.

index_02.jpg

Here’s something I’ve been waiting on all week, and I am stoked to be one of the first to lay it on you. Today’s post may be called Dy No Mite, but I sure as hell ain’t talking about Jimmie Walker! I recieved an email from one Katie Studley last week and in it she hipped me to a band of brothers who in my opinion are keeping with the tradition that Desco and Daptone helped to establish back in 1999.
kaboomin.jpg
It is my pleasure to introduce you to the Dynamites, hailing from Nashville. I caught some of their act on Myspace and I have to tell you that this is a band that deserves to be heard, and not just because I got this promotional disc either. Check out this mighty sound as seen through the eyes and heard through the pipes of yet another underappreciated soul soldier Charles Walker, who has dedicated over a half a century of his life to providing the world with his brand of funk prowess. The dues have been paid by way of numerous collectable singles for established labels such as Chess and Decca, and a handful of small independents. Thanks largely to the Northern Soul boom over in Europe, Brother Walker enjoyed success there and kept the people happily immersed in funky soul. Now it’s time for him and his extra tight band to get their props here in America. I know, you’re all saying “Let’s hear the funk already”… Well, enough of my rambling, I’ll let the music speak for itself…
s6.jpg
Please download and enjoy “Can You Feel It?”, an .mp3 file, 7 MB

Now I don’t know about you, but I’m sure feeling Joseph Henry and Lee Fields vibes here…
kaboom.jpg
Now that you’ve heard the samples, I’ll pull out the plugs… This record, appropriately called “Kaboom!”, will be hitting stores on the 12th of June. I’m sure that this is one eMusic will be picking up too, so by all means, keep on the lookout for it. And for you Bonnaroo fans, they are scheduled to be there this year. Our local college radio station usually sends a team down to broadcast some of the festivities, so hopefully those of us without tickets may get lucky and hear a slice or two. Check out their website for full bios, more dates and such, and their Myspace page has even more.
side2.jpg
Katie, I hope I made you and the guys proud… Thanks so much for letting me be a part of your promotion and I wish you all lots of luck and plenty of success. Any chance for the band to play some dates in Baltimore? You know I’ll be front row center, probably screaming louder than Mr. Walker can sing…

Peace and blessings.

Many, many thanks to Katie Studley of Thirty Tigers Distribution, Outta Sight Records and of course, The Dynamites for allowing me to share this with you today. As it turns out, a comment left on the disclaimer page doesn’t always mean something bad

3 thoughts on “Dy No Mite!

Leave a Reply

