Come And Get It… Fufu Stew No. 6: The Heat ‘n’ Eat Snack Tray

Hello, kiddies.

I hear tell that DJ Prestige is here in Baltimore. Sorry I missed you. If you want to return, look us up and Leslie and I will be sure to treat you right. That goes for you too, Larry, as if you didn’t know… 😉 I really am trying to synch up schedules with my coworker about renting out his uncle’s club, but time and money are indeed an issue in these trying times. Let me tell you, as long as I’m still living and breathing, I will continue to try to make it happen. Anyhow, on with the post.

As it turns out, even when you don’t feel like cooking, sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. No harm no foul here though since the food being served today is so damned tasty. It also helps that today is considerably cooler than yesterday, so I can stand being in the kitchen…
As promised, here is the latest installment in the Fufu Stew saga. This particular batch contains more of the ingredients that I prepped earlier this week. Think of it as finger food as there’s a lot of differrent flavours and textures to sample.

Fufu Stew No. 6: The Heat ‘N’ Eat Snack Tray

01 Apricot Brandy-Rhinoceros (Elektra). I picked this one up at a flea market on LP a couple of years back, purely on the strength of the appearance of Paul Rothchild from Doors fame. A pretty strong opener with a massive organ riff, I just wished that it was a bit cleaner…
02 Kool And The Gang-Kool And The Gang (De Lite). It sounded good right here.
03 Respect-Rotary Connection (Cadet Concept)
04 Gentle On My Mind-Aretha Franklin (Atlantic).
I had to add a childhood memory or two.
05 Naturally-Sweetwater (Reprise). This was the first electric band to grace the Woodstock stage back in 1969. I’ll tell more of the story a little later over at the Snack Bar. This track is taken from their final LP “Melon”.
06 Mashed Potato Popcorn-James Brown (King).
Parts one and two properly cut and pasted for your dancing pleasure… 
07 If It Ain’t Funky-The Soul Searchers (Sussex). Here’s a prototype for you DC Go Go fans, and especially for you Mr. Prestige, the Sussex label fan that you are… {PING!}
08 Funky Music Sho Nuff Turns Me On-Yvonne Fair (Motown)
09 Kissing My Love-Afrique (Mainstream).
I really dig the twin guitar attack on this one.

…here’s the soapbox moment of the show…
10 Compared To What-Brian Auger’s Oblivion Express (RCA Victor). I have yet to hear a bad reading of this Eugene McDaniels classic, even the Gov’t Mule had it in their setlist a few years back. I may have to dig out my bootlegs again.
11 Hey Big Brother-Rare Earth (Rare Earth). “Welcome to 1984. Are you ready for the third World War?!”Jello Biafra, 1981
12 Black Skinned Blue Eyed Boys-The Equals (Shout).
Everybody’s been rocking this joint lately, so I had to see what all the fuss was about. Now I know why, and I STILL won’t study war!
13 Don’t Give A Hoot-Sweetwater (Reprise). Another track from Sweetwater’s final LP
…I’ll put the soapbox away now…

14 Baby Don’t You Do It (Live)-The Who (Decca). Here’s another shining example of that patented Maximum R&B from the flip side of the “Join Together” 45. The date of this performance is unknown to me. I’m guessing from the date that it was a leftover from the legendary Leeds University concert which in my opinion is one of the best live records ever made. It could also be a part of one of these bootleg recordings that I just found here.
15 Soul Experience-Iron Butterfly (Atco). Love it, love it, love it!
16 Better Off Dead-Bill Withers (Sussex). Here’s another Sussex piece. Call it funky country, at least lyrically anyway… and what an all star cast backing up Mr. Withers here. Booker T. & The mighty MGs AND Stephen Stills. Wow!
17 Do Yourself A Favour-Edgar Winter’s White Trash (Epic). I just heard this one for the first time the other day. A real powerful horn driven performance recorded at the Apollo Theatre of all places…
18 Buried Alive In The Blues-The Full Tilt Boogie Band (Columbia). This was taken from a quadrophonic pressing which allows the organ to be prominently pushed to the front of the mix for some reason. There’s no doubt that the band really cooks here. It’s such a shame that Pearl couldn’t be there to be a part of it. God bless you, Janis…
19 Ball Of Confusion-The Undisputed Truth (Gordy). “…let the music take your mind.”
20 Popcorn With A Feeling-James Brown (King).
And there you have it, I sure hope it serves you well.

Please download and enjoy “Fufu Stew No. 6: The Heat ‘n’ Eat Snack Tray”, an .mp3 file, 71 MB.

Let me take this time out to send a shout to Tommy over at Disco Delivery and the good brother Uchenna over at With Comb and Razor for checking in. It’s always good to hear from the people out there.

I’ll be back at ya next week with another mouthwatering Funk spectacular, barring incidents. It’s about time to do it again. I will also have the all in one scanner back up and running again to add some more colour around here, but it’s been just a little too warm. I hope you understand. Anyway, thanks large for hanging out with me today. Stay cool and have a good week.

Peace and blessings.

5 thoughts on “Come And Get It… Fufu Stew No. 6: The Heat ‘n’ Eat Snack Tray

  1. i wasn’t in B-More this weeked. i could not come to that city without looking you up! i was just visiting B-More with my last record. keep on keepin on my friend. sounds great as always!

  2. oops, my bad. I stand corrected, and maybe my eyes could use a little bit of help too. Staring at old dusty monitors and all. The offer still stands nonetheless.

  3. NICE ONE!! Really dig “Respect” from Rotary Connection. The Yvonne Fair track is ACE! Got a couple of Brian Auger records but never heard his version of “Compared To What,” WOW!! One of my other favourite versions is from Col. Bruce Hampton & The Aquarium Rescue Unit off their debut CD. Let me know if you don’t have it, as I think it’s out of print, and I’ll send it to you. Damn, The Who was an amazing group during that time. So much energy!! That Bill Withers jam is FUNKY. The drums are so good, almost sounds like it’s a performance from a live show . No doubt, the horns in the Edgar Winter tune are BOSS!! Mmm, Mmm, that was some filling stew. I think I’m gonna have to go take a nap…
    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave…

  4. I am digging the Soul Searchers! A ladel full of funkiness.
    I also enjoyed JB and the Mashed Potato Popcorn, one of his Popcorn tracks that I had not heard until today.
    I am a pretty new visitor, added you to my blogroll, keep up the good work.
    RB

  5. Pingback: NetInfoWeb 2.0: Soul, R&B, Jazz and Blues on the ‘Net » links for 2007-06-15

Leave a Reply

