Happy Summer! (including Fufu Funk Fix No. 2 1/2)

Hello, kiddies.

Hello thursdayborn, and welcome to the party. Check out his mighty collection of Awesome Tapes From Africa. Rather fitting that I publish this post on a Thursday, huh?

Well, the verdict is in. Thanks to some nice commentary and a brief reassessment of my intentions, I have decided to post the second half of the Fufu Funk Fix. This is where the buildup gets just a bit jaded because I had originally written a lovely piece to accompany the music. It was virtually complete when the power went blank in the neighbourhood. Now usually I would save any notepad documents periodically as I went along but for some reason I did not do that this time so over eight hours of hard work and a major lack of typing skills (I’m not a two finger tapper. Three fingers maybe, but two, never) were for naught. Needless to say I was pissed off and refused to do it again. In some ways that could be a good thing because I could have stood to omit a few extra sentences, but I can’t quite remember what it was that I wanted to say so that I could abridge it in the first place (insert premature senior moment here).

Most of you should be familiar with the story via the last post, so I won’t go into another long winded explanation. Apparently it really is all about “Searching For Soul” (which incidentally that glorious comp is featured here), and the fact that these people found it in the goodness of their hearts to make it just a little easier to find. I can’t think of a more fitting way to say thank you, and to hip other people to your mighty prowess than through my expression in this forum. Call it a sort of legacy in that these people did blaze the proverbial trail for us who are passionate about the music we love to play, and now that is so easy to launch a journal and spread the love on a grand scale, it is these people that deserve another round of applause. I don’t know about you out there, but I will freely say that I am not worthy. Oh well, enough of my gushing fits, let’s get down to it, shall we?

This is the project that has remained unfinished since January. Just recently I picked it up again on the strength of the Crate Digger and the Heavy Soul Brutha (speaking of which, Hey Dave, I got the “Drum” motif in the last mix. You were certainly right about it, and I think that this one will keep with the tradition). You all get the idea of what I am trying to accomplish, so after a few more hours of losing weight from sweating in the kitchen and a steady hand upon the mouse, I give you the second half of the Fufu Funk Fix which I will simply call

Fufu Funk Fix No. 2 1/2

01 Mojo Woman-The Johnny Otis Show (Epic)
02 How Funky Can You Get-Bobby Patterson’s Mustangs(Jetstar)
03 Searching For Soul-Jake Wade & The Soul Searchers (Mutt)
04 Got To Get Me Back To Louisiana Pts. 1&2-Elmer & Brenda P. (Groove Attack CD Track)
05 Find Yourself-Marvin Holmes (Kimberly)
06 The Kick-The Rhythm Machine (Lulu)
07 If You Want Your Man-Julia Dewitt (Cord)
08 Be My Lady-The Dynamic Tints (Twinight)
09 There’s A Break In The Road-Betty Harris (SSS)
10 It Ain’t My Fault Pts. 1&2-Smokey Johnson (NOLA)
11 My Thing Is Your Thing (Come And Get It)-Bobby Patterson (Jetstar)
12 Funk I Tus-Warm Excursion (Watts USA)
13 Coconut Brown-J.C. Davis  (Mus I Col)
14 Gettin’ Down-Eugene Blackwell & The New Breed (Seaside)
15 Mesmeriser Pt. 1-The Fantasies (Whiz)
16 The Prophet-Mike James Kirkland (Zay)
17 The Grunt-The JB’s (People)
18 Tell Me-Ricky Calloway (Jayville)
19 Quit Jivin’-Pearly Queen (Sound Triangle)
20 Just A Groove In G-Wilbur Bascomb And The Zodiacs (Carnival)

Please download and enjoy “Fufu Funk Fix No. 2 1/2”, an. mp3 file, 60 MB

Now I’d like to pass out shouts, praises and such to the following blogs which helped me to further my education, and whose tunes I used:

Oliver Wang’s Soul Sides for the Johnny Otis.
The Soul Shower for the Julia Dewitt. Good news, he’s back to bless us with more, so stop by and get wet 😉
Nurse Marbles for The Rhythm Machine. Even though I have owned a copy of the Funky 16 Corners comp ever since, the sound quality of the original 45 sounded really good so I just couldn’t resist including it.
The mighty, MIGHTY Captain Planet and Murphy’s Law for the Pearly Queen.

and last, but certainly not least, I must say a very resounding thank you to none other than Red Kelly DJ Blueprint and of course, Mr. Funky 16 Corners, Larry Grogan for taking the time to give this little ol’ blog a chance six short months ago. I know I’ve said it before, but I owe you guys a lot. For all of the rest of the freedom fighters who are a part of the ever growing community, especially The Scholar and the mighty DJ Prestige, I’ve got nothing but love for all of you. Allow me the indulgence of saying that together we can and hopefully will make the world a better place, one record at a time.

Thank you for your time and I’ll see you again soon.

Peace and blessings.

As a side note, I do plan to do some detail cleaning in the coming weeks so by all means, feel free to peruse the back catalog for older mixes that you may have missed. I’ll leave ’em up until the server space runs out. I’ve also converted a bunch more records yesterday which will make their way to the Snack Bar, as well as in future Fufu mixes so be on the lookout for those. Now I’m off to roll some sushi because I’m absolutely famished. Enjoy the weekend everybody. To take a phrase from Mr. Bill Withers, “whatever you do, do it good.”

7 thoughts on “Happy Summer! (including Fufu Funk Fix No. 2 1/2)

  1. thanks for the shout out, Vincent. I am d/l the mix now. It looks killer.

    Will spin when work is over, 3 more conference calls!!!

    stay cool,
    RB
    cratedig.blogspot.com

  2. Yep, this one certainly deserved the hype. Nice! The Julia Dewitt tune is fab. Always, always thought the Betty Harris jam was one of the funkiest nuggets I’d ever heard. I was a big Public Enemy fan back in the early days of Hip-Hop and “The Grunt” was the driving force behind one of my favourite PE songs. MASSIVE!! I hate to be selfish, but I wanted the mix to go on 2 or 3 hours more. I think when that happens you know you stumbled accross something special. Until next time…
    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave…

  3. Vincent—I absolutely love your sense of community. A lot of bloggers are too fixated on their own gig to recognize how strong the tie is that binds us together as music lovers. Props for all that you’re doing here and around the interweb to bring soul and funk fans together.

  4. hello love! blogs look great and of course, the tunes are always tasty. i have turned a fellow west coaster on to the stew so i would ‘spec you might be getting a note from zev soon….tell leslie hi! and miss you both!
    xo kt

  5. Ahhh, welcome back KT! The door’s always open to all of you fine kids holding it down out west. The more the merrier, and thanks to all of you who helped me to ease the fear with your positive commentary.

    Peace and blessings.

  6. Vincent, I’m a newcomer to Fufu Stew and I really like your mixes! As a 60ish professional violinist whose favorite songs include Showmen Inc. doing Tramp From Funky Broadway, and Little Royal’s version of Soul Train (as well as just about any violin playing by Sugarcane Harris), your tastes are right up my alley! Keep at it, please oh please.

    later,
    John (Tenney)

Leave a Reply

