I Was Rob’d

Hello, kiddies.

Well, the day finally came. At long last I got to see Rob, the mastermind behind the Slick On The Corner post. We got to rapping and that’s when he came out with a big ol’ box of 45s that haven’t seen the light of day since 1985! As I sifted through the box I discovered lots of that patented Fleamarket Funk “Heat” which basically had me drooling with aural ecstacy. That, along with a copy of the complete first season of The Boondocks on DVD turned a really shitty day into a wonderful day.

The mercury level is still way off the chart, so converting the 45s has been a slow sweaty process so far, but this weekend is looking pretty cool. Only 79 degrees on Sunday! Guess what I’ll be doing! I should have the first mix done in about a week. I’m really stoked!

In the meantime, I will go ahead and repost an older mix for those of you who are just tuning in, including the Merkin Man who’s all over the freeform tip with his blog simply called Yeah. I just put his Blues mix on the ol’ iPod. Welcome to the party! Anyway, on with the repost. This is one of my favourites, so those of you who missed it the first time, read on and enjoy.

Buffet Style
originally published 1 April 2007

(deleted phrase)

…let me invite you over for the proverbial Sunday Dinner. I don’t know how you enjoy Sunday dinner with your respective families, but I can vividly recall being a kid at my house all crowded around the kitchen table, about as formal as wearing pajamas if the feeling was there. My uncle usually cooked fried chicken with all the trimmings, serving it buffet style. You all know about that, huh? The mix I am serving today contains some of the goodies I got from Alan, the proprietor of “Own Guru” Records, and the fine folks at Now and Then Records in Arbutus. I have to give them a shout because they really had some monsters this time… They will get my business ALL the time. There’s a few others I added in at the last minute as a bit of a garnish if you will. Here are the ingredients.

01 Soul Party Pt. 1-Bobby Williams and His Band (REW). I almost didn’t get this one, luckily Alan was willing to part with it…
02 Doo Doo-David T. Walker (Zea). Non stop guitar chops! I love it!
03 Do The African Twist Pts. 1&2-The Mad Men (Gamble)
04 The Seeds Of Life Pts. 1&2-Harlem River Drive (Roulette).
I only noticed after the dish was done that side A is in stereo and side B is mono, so the cut and paste may sound wierd if you’re really listening for it…
05 Latin Strut-Joe Bataan (Mericana). Wow!!!
06 As I Get Older-Billy Preston (Apple). A real keyboard power trio consisting of Preston with Sly Stone, produced by and featuring the Genius himself, Ray Charles.
07 Do It To It-Bird Rollins Featuring The New Jersy Burners (Calla).
08 Cat In A Tree-Jimmy Smith (Verve). I will ALWAYS buy Jimmy Smith records!
09 Tomorrow’s Dream-Al Green (Hi)
10 Ain’t Nobody Home-Howard Tate (Verve)
11 Pullin’-Aretha Franklin (Atlantic).
Here’s a nice forgotten deep album cut.
12 When Will It End-The Honey Cone (Hot Wax).
13 Bear Mash-Ramsey Lewis (Cadet)
14 Country John-Allen Toussaint (Reprise)
15 I’m your Hoochie Coochie Man-Skip Easterling (Instant)
. NOLA y’all, NOLA!
16 Funky Fever-Clarence Carter (Atlantic)
17 Let’s Do Some Good Timing-Alvin Cash & The Crawlers (Mar V Lus)
18 Hitch It To The Horse-The Fantastic Johnny C (Phil L.A. Of Soul)
19 Give Everybody Some-The Bar Kays (Volt).

20 Drunk-Ace Cannon (Hi). Another killer!!!
21 Funky Feet-Johnny Robinson (Epic). A long lost Willie Mitchell production…
22 The Oogum Boogum Song-Freddy Robinson (World Pacific Jazz). This guy does wonders with a guitar.
23 Everything’s Hunky Dory-Billy Harner (V-Tone)
24 Soul Party Pt. 2-Bobby Williams and His Band (REW).
Couldn’t cut and paste it like I wanted to, but I had to play both sides.
25 In The Heat Of The Night-Ray Charles (Tangerine)

As you may or may not have noticed, the Second Helping Page is getting left in the wind. I’m taking a mandatory week of R and R soon. That’s when the detail cleaning will commence and once again, a new look for the kitchen. As for now, it’s time to get ready for another day in the salt mines. I have three BRAND NEW mixes in the can… everything I spoke of last week and then some. I hope to post again on Sunday, barring incidents. Stay cool and thanks for being home this time Rob…

Peace and blessings.

4 thoughts on “I Was Rob’d

  1. I really haven’t put my good eye on it yet, there’s literatlly hundreds of 45s in this box. The most awesome thing was TWO copies of that Superlatives joint that you all raved about last month. Rob is a fan of mostly Northern Soul and the Street Corner sound. I’ll be doing plenty of spinning, scanning and posting when I get home from work this afternoon, hence my responding to your comment at 4:30 in the morning. And for the record, it’s another patented Maryland summer day: HAZY HOT AND HUMID!!!

  2. great mix… really digging it.

    Mr Carter will be making an appearance in my next mix as well. check your snail mail later this week…
    rb
    cratedig.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

