To Hell With Chocolate, I want SUSHI (including Breakfast In Bed)

Hello, kiddies.

Yeah, there is a reason why I chose that title today.

Another really taxing week in the salt mines is slowly drawing to a close, but instead of sulking about it, I decided that the time was right to get the first batch of newly acquired nuggets up and ready to go. Someone said that music calms the savage beast, and I am inclined to agree. I finished this all 45 all (over the place) Soul fix in a relatively short amount of time. I am finding myself at a loss for words here simply because the soundcheck you’re about to hear is chock full of those knocout punches, heat, if you will. At least I think so, I sure hope you do too…

Breakfast In Bed… what service!

 wavy.jpg
01 Introspeak by Wavy Gravy. I’ve been on a Woodstock kick lately… and it describes this sense of community that we all have going on here to a T. Remember, there really is a little bit of soulful heaven in this disaster area of day to day living as you are about to see.
Okay, here it comes… MESS CALL!
mess-call.jpg

lots of labelscans today… feel free to click on one to blow it up.
wackwack.jpgpeculiar.jpghesgot.jpgheymama.jpgphilly.jpgeyetoeye.jpgfind.jpgwalking.jpggroovy.jpg
02 Wack Wack-Young Holt Trio (Brunswick). A rather common piece that I finally obtained… I just love that slap bass playing. Eldee and Red never sounded better.
03 Ain’t That Peculiar-Ramsey Lewis (Cadet). I think they return to join their former bandmate for this Motown standard. At least it sounds like them anyway, and the two songs just naturally fit together.
04 He’s Got Your Love-Isley Brothers (T Neck). Can’t understand why their complete recorded works have been reished with the exception of their Buddah debut. God, what funk!
05 Hey Mama-Willie West (Deesu). On the strength of Deesu and Mr. Toussaint on the label, here’s some textbook NOLA.
06 Baby Do The Philly Dog-Olympics (Mirwood). Heading up north for a couple of nice pieces.
07 Eye To Eye-Titus Turner (Okeh)
08 Got To Find A Way-Harold Burrage (M-pac!)
09 I’ve Been Loving You Too Long-Cindy Scott (Veep)
10 Everybody Walking Together-Prophecy (All Platinum).
Never heard of this streetcorner-esque group until I dug it out of Rob’s box. Absolutely beautiful wah pedal work, and a lovely soapbox moment.
11 It’s A Groovy World-The Unifics (Kapp). Here’s another…
12 Keep On Keeping On-Vibrations (Okeh). …and another. Put the soapbox away, Vincent…
dream.jpgmama.jpgtip.jpgdriving.jpgfool.jpglittlebit.jpgmasquerade.jpglonely.jpgtrying.jpg
13 I Had A Dream-The Pips (Everlast). That’s right, Gladys laid out for this one. These cats can really belt one out.
14 Switch It On-Cliff Nobles & Co. (Phil L.A. Of Soul)
15 Mama Told Me Not To Come-Wilson Pickett (Atlantic).
How could I resist…
16 Come To Me-Barbara Mason (Arctic)
17 Tip On In Pt. 1-Slim Harpo (Excello)
18 Polk Salad Annie-Tony Joe White (Monument).
There I go, hanging on Larry’s word again…
19 That Driving Beat-Willie Mitchell (Hi). I get blisters on my feet from stomping them so hard. This one lives up to it’s name for sure, and judging from the quality of the label scan, it’s been well played.
20 If You Gotta Make A Fool Of Somebody-James Ray (Caprice). I only know of Aretha Franklin’s treatment on this one, I can only guess that this is the original. I’m really liking that tuba (?) as a bass substitute.
21 Don’t You Miss Me A Little Bit Baby-Jimmy Ruffin (Soul). Travelling up and down the east coast, I find myself leaning towards the Northern Soul these days…
22 Masquerade-Don Varner (South Camp).  Another textbook example of that super sweet Northern soul…
23 Lonely In A Crowd-The Superlatives (Westbound). I just had to flip this’un over. No difference from the other side as once again white hot rhythm and harmony just ooze from the speakers. Thanks Larry for yet another tip!
24 What’s The Use Of Me Trying-Tan Geers (Okeh). Here’s another powerful Northern piece
25 Every Beat Of My Heart-The Du-ettes (Mar-V-Lus)
pocket.jpgsomething.jpgjr-walker.jpg
26 In The Pocket-Darrell Banks (Revilot)
27 Something You Got-Alvin Robinson (Tiger).
Nice when I get surprised with an original of a song that I’ve heard covered and loved for years…
28 Nothing But Soul-Jr. Walker & The All Stars (Soul). A fitting close; I hope that it all lived up to its name…

Please download and enjoy Breakfast In Bed, an .mp3 file, 67 MB. Again, thanks Rob for letting me have at that box. Nothin’ but love my friend.

Another one’s coming real soon… plus another invite to post for Got The Fever… more details will be forthcoming, so while the weather is really gorgeous today (it’s actually UNDER 80 degrees for a change), I must take advantage of the golden opportunity and catch up on some much needed housework and more mp3 blessings than I can shake a stick at. With that said, I’ve gotta hip you all to the latest slice of heat that DJ Bluewater did a few weeks back called “Soul Melange”. If you haven’t already checked it out, I strongly urge you to head over to his place and grab a plate. There’s one track in particular that really has my juices flowing, that being Della Reese’s reading of “It Was A Very Good Year”. Absolutely amazing!

Thanks for stopping by, and let me send a warm hello to the mighty Soulkombinats! In case you missed it, there’s another AntiDivas post waiting for you here.

Peace and blessings.

4 thoughts on “To Hell With Chocolate, I want SUSHI (including Breakfast In Bed)

  1. Nice one Vince!! I’m reminded of another, of the many, great quotes from the classic film Dazed and Confused. “It’s Quality not Quantity, man.” Well, sometimes you CAN have both. A massive selection of SOUL.

    Thanks for dropping the Tony Joe White version of “Polk Salad Annie.” I’ve always seen his name but never heard his tunes. I was only familiar with Elvis Presley’s various renditions from the 70’s era Vegas live stuff. I’m one of the rare cats that thinks 69-72 were the BEST years for him. I’m gonna have to search out that Tony Joe “Black and White” record. Great tunes on that one. I’m really curious now to hear his take on them.

    Also really dig that Don Varner tune. ACE!!! Some BOSS drums in that Superlatives jam.

    You are the SHIT, my Brutha!!

    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave…

  2. Nice slice. Love the Willie West. What a great opening line “Since I saw you last, I got a braaaaaand new style”. Stopped me in my tracks.

    Yes Heavy Soul Brutha, make sure you pick up Black & White, with the exception of 1 or 2 tunes, its amazing.

  3. Hey Vincent,

    I have been enjoying your mix as I do some work on my low budget soundsystem. You have included a bunch of tracks that are new to me.

    I enjoyed the funky wah wah action on Everybody’s Been Walking together.

    The guitar work on the Cliff Nobles cut was all over the place, with the call and response fuzz guitar really killing it for me.

    And you are right that Driving Beat is something to be reckoned with.

    Keep up the great work, you are making my ears happy!

    Stay cool,
    RB

Leave a Reply

