To Have And Have Not…

Hello, kiddies.

At long last, a day off! What does that mean for me? A golden opportunity to get things done, mainly continuing to sift through more records and such so I can get another piping hot recipe on the table for your aural consumption. I wanted to switch gears and try something new, but since the last digging session produced such a great yield, I thought it was only right to keep the funky train a rollin’. As you can tell, I am gearing up for the trip to Jersey. Excitement doesn’t begin to describe what I’m feeling right now as the day draws closer. I know, it’s a little excessive, but what can I do, I haven’t done anything like this in at least twenty years. I want to make a good impression, and hopefully get some much needed exposure so that maybe, just maybe something like this can still happen here in Baltimore. Lord knows, the club scene here is in dire need of more good funk nights, at least from what I can tell. My friend and I got a wild hare up there to go visit one of our favourite spots from back in the day, just for kicks and giggles. Needless to say we were pretty saddened by the drastic changes that had taken place. The downtempo DJs and live conga players that used to be the norm were replaced by the same old rhythmless bullshit that is currently littering the airwaves with nauseating redundancy. I will mention no names since I am still trying to maintain some sort of anonymity, at least until September at any rate. Speaking of which, let me say that although the response was quick and fleeting at best, it was rather unanimous (thanks to those who offered valuable input, you know who you are). With that said, it gives me great pleasure to unveil my new alter ego. From now on, you can refer to me as Vincent, the Soul Chef! Pres, you can put “DJ” in front of it for your flyer if you wish, although truth be told, I still rely on ol’ Bessie when it comes to preparing and serving up Fufu Stew. As I continue to streamline and organise the kitchen, I do intend to get back into shape and try my hand at some live and off the cuff stuff. I need the practise, you know? I don’t possess the greatest of equipment (1200s just ain’t in the budget, and my mixer does need a good scrubbing), but I get by alright. Hopefully the equipment won’t fail me and I can come up with some awesome stuff to digest, but for now, let’s get back to the business at hand…

This batch contains some old and some new vinyl scores along with a couple of joints that I would do everything short of selling myself into slavery to own on 45. As the mighty Don Covay once said, “It’s better to have and not need than to need and not have”. I’ve always made it a pont to get the jams anyway I can as you are all aware, but since finding 45s is just a bit easier these days (thank you Jack and Alan…), I do intend to be a bit more of a purist. I must also send another shoutout to DJ Bluewater here for offering his resources to me as well. I have been compiling a wish list of sorts (in between working and sleeping) of some nuggets that have remained elusive over the past two years which I hope to send out in the coming weeks before the road trip… Times are finally getting better around here, so without further ado, here we go.

To Have And Have Not… another Fufu Funk Fix
Looky here, LABEL SCANS!!!
prophet.jpgdynamite.jpgmodsquad.jpgdragit.jpgbrandnew.jpgfunkpower.jpgbringit.jpgrobot.jpgcoldblood.jpg
01 Introspeak By Jim Morrison
02 Right On-Carleen & The Groovers (Music World).
Anybody got a spare couple hundred bucks? Thanks once again to the Soul Patrol for saving me some much needed duckets…
03 The Prophet-Jack McDuff (Cadet)
04 Superjock-Reuben Bell (Alarm)
05 I Feel Like Dynamite-King Floyd (Chimneyville)
parliaments.jpg
06 Good Old Music-The Parliaments (Revilot).
Am I wrong in calling these cats the Black Man’s Grateful Dead? They sure tour like they are… all that aside, this CD deserves a proper (and cheaper) reissue. Folks like me would certainly appreciate it.
07 Mod Squad You All-The Mod Squad (Tangerine). Talk about luck… and CHEAP, too
08 You Lost Your Thing-Hank Johnson (Spear). I know I’m not alone when I say that I sure miss the mighty Funk and Soul Blog…
…here’s some more from the undisputed king of Psychedelic Soul, Mr. Norman Whitfield.
09 Mama, I’ve Got A Brand New Thing (Don’t Say No)-The Undisputed Truth (Gordy)
gknightpips.jpg
10 You Need Love Like I Do Don’t You-Gladys Knight & The Pips (Soul)
11 Papa Was Too-Joe Tex (Dial). Who’s a tramp.
isleything.jpg
12 Losing My Touch-Isley Brothers (T Neck).
Here’s another deep album cut. C’mon guys, let’s reissue it already!
13 Drag It Over Here-The Olympic Runners (London). Another sleeper from that mighty box of 45s that Rob offered.
14 It’s Just Begun-Jimmy Castor Bunch (RCA). Shock and surprise… another famous breakbeat uncovered from the recesses of my crates. You never know what you’re gonna find until you look, huh?
15 Bring It All Back Home-Poison (Roulette)
16 Funk Power-Creative Funk (Creative Funk)
17 Cold Blooded-The Bar Kays (Volt)
…here’s a couple of cut and paste jobs.
18 Uptown Saturday Night Pts. 1&2-Bill Harris (Warner Bros). Another contribution from the Black Lion. We’ll get to talk to your uncle yet. Only a few more weeks of hell to go at the salt mines, but I did get my Sundays back at any rate.
19-Do The Robot Pts. 1&2-The Family (North Bay)
20 Black Cat-The Ohio Players (Westbound)
21-Who’s Gonna Take The Weight Pt. 1-Kool & The Gang (De-Lite).
Let’s finish the dish with a soapbox moment that Public Enemy loved to play.

Please download and enjoy To Have And Have Not, an .mp3 file, 60 MB.

Well, the time has come to get back to digging for more treasure, but before I go, let me send a shout to Phil Most Chill. Check out his return to the blogisphere which he calls That Real Schitt, and it is, too. Besides, any friend of DJ Prestige is a friend of mine. I’ve also gotta give it up once again to the Heavy Soul Brutha for another phenomenal job with the second installment of Caplog Meets Soul Brutha, which is brought to us through the courtesy of ModRadio. Stop by his spot and grab a plate before it’s all gone.
caplogo.jpg
I hope to be back to do it all over again next week, so be good and be safe.

Peace and blessings.

P.S. The guest posts are done! Look for them to be posted real soon at Got The Fever and This Is Tomorrow. For the Scholar, I got your email this morning. You should have a surprise inyour inbox real soon, my brother…

11 thoughts on “To Have And Have Not…

  1. ok soul chef, i’ve sent your info to our guest graphic artist. we’re looking forward for your arrival. we’ve also got DJ Save1 coming down from Providence, RI to bring some heat. looking forward to listening to this mix at work. i just picked up a minty copy of that creative funk track. i dig it. cheers.

  2. Nice One! Started my week with this mix and Monday don’t seem so bad now. Really dig the Undisputed Truth tune. Think I’ve only got one or two tracks by them. Looking forward to the impending search. Love The Isleys jam as well.

    Thanks for the shout and promoting “Caplog Meets SoulBrutha.” That’s high praise indeed coming from you. I really have to give props to the blogging community including, no doubt, The SOUL Chef (Dig It!), DJ Prestige, Larry at Funky 16, DJ Blueprint, PJ at Galactic Fractures and a host of others that provide constant “Inspiration Information.” It all comes back to the artists and especially great labels like Daptone, Truth And Soul, and Jazzman that are keeping, not only vinyl, but great organic Soul and Funk alive.

    “With The POWER OF SOUL, ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE!”

    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave…

  3. Soul Chef!!!

    The Jimmy Castor Bunch track is a banger. Been using the mix during breaks at work to keep my energy level up.

    Another strong one, keep it going.
    RB

  4. Thanks for the mix! Really great music. Like the Gladys Knight track a lot.
    Also like to say hello to HeavySoulBruthaDaveB…..

    thanks again!

    Jan (from Splinters…!)

  5. Thanks for the comment. I’ve been checking your blog for a while now and I’m digging the stuff you’ve been posting. Keep bringing the funk, soul and Fufu.

  6. Hey Vincent,
    I’m really bummed because I can’t seem to access any mixes on your site. I use Firefox and I keep getting timed out. Do you have any idea what the problem is?

  7. I dunno’ sb. I’ve been an Internet Explorer user for years, so I honestly can’t answer your question. I still recommend right-clicking on the links (or however that works with Firefox), then saving to your desktop or directory of your choosing. If you left click then what happens is you will have to wait for a Quick Time plugin to load, and that takes forever, which is probably the cause of your timeout issues. I hope that solves the probem because I really want everyone to be able to enjoy Fufu Stew… thanks for choosing us.

Leave a Reply

