Come and get it… Fufu Stew No. 7

A word from the chef:

The following was composed earlier this morning when the heat was more bearable. The coming week will see an onslaught of temperatures over 100 degrees, so this will probably put future posts on hold for a couple of extra days. I apologise ahead of time, and promise to make up for lost time on the next postif such is the case. Thank you for your cooperation.

Hello, kiddies.
Another week has come to a close, and boy was it a HOT one… The mercury did indeed reach the 100 degree mark here in Baltimore this weekend (or at least the humidity made it feel that way at any rate). But just like the trooper that I am, I made the trek to Fells Point once again to see the Guru… I hear tell that he will be launching a website pretty soon so that all of you fellow cratediggers will now have yet another resource at your disposal for finding that sweet heat. I’ll have more details and a URL available for you when I see him again. One can never have too many sources, y’know? While this week’s yield was small in size, I have to admit that it was mighty in strength. Getting stuck in traffic on the main drag was no fun for lil’ truck though, but the truck, the records and I made it home in one piece, so for that I am indeed grateful.
As I plunk away on the keys with coffee in hand, and the fans blaring in my face and on Bessie’s backside, I have to once again thank Kevin and wish DJ Blueprint a happy first anniversary. If you have yet to do so, stop by Got The Fever and This Is Tomorrow and check out the posts I did for them…
Here is a brief synopsis of the week’s accomplishments in a nutshell: nagging backache and no closer to getting the room all neat and tidy. I did make good on a personal promise and whipped up another batch of Fufu Stew. The inspiration this time around comes from my beloved Leslie because as you can guess, she has crates too. When we first met six years ago, she sat me down one Sunday afternoon and proceeded to share some of her faves with me. I was amazed by some of the pieces, while not so surprised by others. Two artists in particular that really got my attention were a group called Renaissance (who I do plan to feature in an upcoming post at the Snack Bar), as well as the singer/songwriting duo Brewer and Shipley. It’s always a good thing to take a look on the other side of the proverbial fence… She thinks so too, considering that she’s been fed a steady diet of Funk and Soul 45s for the past two years. When I told her that this recipe was finished, she smiled with glee because while she’s really proud of my accomplishments here in the Fufu Stew kitchen, by the same token she will get to hear some of her favourite records from days gone by. I’ll be making an effort to sneak a few more tunes in the mix here and there, just to let her know that I am still the well rounded individual when it comes to my tastes in music… with that said, let’s get to the business at hand.
I did get a chance to holler at the College Square gang this weekend. It’s been quite a while because of schedules and such. Most of you should recall the story of how this whole Fufu Stew thing took shape, so I’ll spare you the lengthy introduction. This recipe contains another delicate mix of flavours and textures, held together by the presence of the ever popular “chops”.

dcthomas.jpg 

01 Done Somebody Wrong-David Clayton Thomas (Decca). I start the festivities with a surprising read of that famous Elmore James piece, sung by that famous souful growl that made Blood Sweat & Tears famous many moons ago. I can only guess that this was recorded prior to his joining that legendary outfit. The signature horn section is still very prononced however.
crashlanding.jpg 

02 Come Down Hard-Jimi Hendrix (Reprise). A deep album track from the ultra rare “Crash Landing” compilation of 1975. Chances are that this track was reished in some form or another, but I won’t swear to it…
notyermamasfunk.jpg

03 Give You All The Love Inside Of Me-Mother’s Finest (Epic). It only took me some three decades to actually appreciate this really heavy funk outfit that my uncle used to play while cleaning house on Sunday mornings. Some of you may already be familiar with the lead vocalist Joyce Kennedy who went on to duet with Jeffery Osborne on the 1983 quiet storm classic “The Last Time I Made Love”. Well this is indeed a huge 180, taken from the debut offering, circa 1975.
04 Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedaylamistic-Isaac Hayes (Enterprise). I had to offer up something to celebrate the premiere of the Stax documentary which aired on PBS the other day. If you are able to see it where you live, you must. And for another perspective, check out the latest post over at The Memphis Sound Lost And Found. By the way, remember when Public Enemy used to play this one? Here’s a little refresher…
gknightportrait.jpg 

05 Window Raisin’ Granny-Gladys Knight & The Pips (Buddah). Here’s another extremely rare gem with Gladys laying low in the background. I can only assume that the lead is being taken over by Cousin Bubba, but this tune is quite funky to say the least. It also serves as a loose tribute to my beloved grandmother that everyone affectionately called Miss Bert. Here’s hoping that you’re nodding your head to this one up there. I love you…
missbert.jpg This is a picture of my grandmother, taken sometime back in the 30s…

06 Jam-Three Dog Night (Dunhill). Ahhh, another childhood memory… I’ve gotta thank Bill’s brother for parting with this LP, since I played the hell out of the 45.
hottuna.jpg 

07 John’s Other-Hot Tuna (Feat. Papa John Creach) (Relix). This performance was recorded live at the Fillmore West back in 1971. I really dig that crazy fiddle playing… Heres a shoutout to brother John Tenney who left a comment on a previous post… I played this one for you, my friend.
lemonpipers.jpg 

08 Fifty Year Void-The Lemon Pipers (Buddah). I lucked upon a minty fresh copy of the classic “Green Tambourine” LP at a yard sale some years back, but I never expected this jam to be on it. What great Hammond chops. I hope you think so too, Larry.
brown_james_shoisfunk_101b.jpg 

09 You Mother You-James Brown (King). Call this Acid Funk, if such a thing exists… Here’s another one from the oh so bizarre collection “Sho Is Funky Down Here”.
10 High Falls-Allman Brothers Band (Capricorn). It was the Brothers that brought Leslie and I together, thanks to the show that I booted when they played the Tweeter Center in Camden back in 2001. I especially love this track as it reminds me of my all time favourite “In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed”…
11 Fifty States Of Freedom-Brewer & Shipley (Kama Sutra). Thanks for playing this one for me Leslie. The soapbox comes into play once again for this deep album cut, as well as the next one…
 12 Shouldn’t All The World Be Dancing-Richie Havens (Stormy Forest). Here’s the lovely finish…

Please download and enjoy Fufu Stew No. 7, an .mp3 file, 72 MB.

Now that the coffee cup is empty (a delicious and very invigorating 24 ounces worth of convenience store kickstart), it’s time to head over to the Sanck Bar, because I have some more things that I’d like to add with regards to the Rubber Souled Trilogy. If you read my comments on the third installment, then you should know of what I speak. Damn, you gotta love those Funky 16 Corners, huh? Preserving free form for posterity is the order of the day…

Before I go, I’ve gotta get you all to visit Sister Lily’s Soul Psychadelicyde as she posted a really funny yet very relevant YouTube piece the other day. What good is the president anyway… also, keep on the lookout over at the Scholar’s Souled On Music for a very special guest post. I’ll be sure to let you know when it drops. It still amazes me just how many of you heavyweight bloggers dig what I’m putting down over here, and for that I am once again extremely grateful. Everyone have a good week, be safe and I’ll do my best to come back by next Sunday with more tasty treats for your hungry souls.

Peace and blessings.

3 thoughts on “Come and get it… Fufu Stew No. 7

  1. My man Vince. How goes it my Brutha? I see you’ve been busy sharing recipes all over the place. I’ve been enjoying them all. Diggin’ on the latest Fufu mix this morning, no doubt. I try to point out to mugs all the time about how Funky and Soulful Hendrix was and they’re havin’ none of it. I just don’t get it. I’ve always seen the name Mother’s Finest but never heard any stuff. I’ll definitely be doing some research on them and getting some records. I also have “Elizabeth Reed” as my all-time fav Allmans tune. Crazy, huh? The classic version from the Fillmore East album, which if memory serves me is actually a spliced together performance from different nights is monumental. That record is in my top 10 live ones. I had never heard that tune “High Falls” before. Hate to say it, but I’m not too keen on it. A bit too smooth and processed sounding for me. Could just be my ears and/or taste. At any rate, love your diversity. I discover something new with each and every recipe. The ingredients are seemingly endless. Can’t wait to see what you pull out of the cupboards next.

    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave…

  2. Thank you!

    Love the beats, especially, the horn, the guitars and the hammond in the first tune. You save me when come home from work at a swedish public radio station which is only playing rap for the youngsters. By the way found this site when I visitited funky16corner, which I can higly recommend
    Greetings from Sweden in the high north, which by the way isn´t that cold this time of year.

Leave a Reply

