Greetings from Asbury Park, and a huge round of thanks…

Hello, kiddies.

I must begin by once again thanking all of you for checking out the mammoth Thanksgiving Day post last week, which helped to break lots of statistics records here in the Fufu Stew kitchen. Now that all of the food has been digested, it’s time to press on…

I am once again honoured to have been a part of the Asbury Park 45 Sessions which took place this past Friday. I couldn’t think of a better way to work off those extra calories from the Thanksgiving day binge than nodding my head to the great selection of funk and soul that filled the walls of the World Famous Asbury Lanes. All of the regulars were in attendance, each armed with a box of 45 rpm heat that definitely kept the bowling center warm and toasty. One of the many highlights of the evening was getting to meet the special guest selector Devil Dick. For those of you who keep up with DJ Prestige’s weekly digging exploits, this name should be quite familiar. If not, be sure to drop by and visit his blog.
The second highlight of the evening was being able to pick up a few new pieces from Lou the pusherman, as well as from Larry and Prestige. I learned even more valuable lessons about the ins and outs of crate digging from that exchange. I also learned that it’s not always about how rare or common a 45 is, but how good as was demonstrated when some of the selectors stepped up to the stand as I played a few long time faves from the way back file. Because of that, I will never underestimate myself (or the depth of my 45 collection) ever again.
I must admit that once again the cognac took over (I swear by night’s end those shots of Remy Martin VSOP were getting bigger and bigger) so I don’t have a coherent playlist to share, but here’s most of what I spun for the kids in no particular order:

Soul Theme-King Curtis (Atco)
No Matter What Sign You Are-Diana Ross & The Supremes (Motown)
Tuck’s Theme-Bill Deal & The Rhondels (Heritage)
Here It Is-Dorothy Moore (Malaco)
It’s Your Thing-Dennis Coffey & The Lyman Woodward Trio (Maverick)
Filet De Soul-The Flaming Ember (Hot Wax)
Funky Music Sho Nuff Turns Me On-Edwin Starr (Gordy)
Funky Worm-Ohio Players (Westbound)
I’ve Got Just The Thing-Lou Courtney (Riverside)
Got Myself A Good Man-Gladys Knight & The Pips (Soul)
Do What You Wanna-Ramsey Lewis (Cadet)
My Love’s A Monster-Clea Bradford (Cadet)
Get It (Come And Get It)-Jay Dee Bryant (Enjoy)
Shake And Fingerpop-Jr. Walker & The All Stars (Soul)
Ack A Fool-The Sister & Brothers (Calla)
O Wow-Panic Buttons (Gamble)
Get Into Something Pt. 2-Isley Brothers (T Neck)
Blow Your Mind-Sound Experience (Philly Soulville)

Thanks again and again to everyone (selectors, hosts and patrons alike) who made me feel at home, and an extra large thank you to DJ Prestige for adding me to the lineup at the last minute. I hope I can come back and do it again real soon. I will be sure to upload and post my set this time once it appears on JamNow, so stand by…

As far as the normal state of affairs are concerned, I am still hard at work preparing those funk recipes for December as I spoke on last time. Mark my words, it will be an uplifting experience for one and all. With that said, I’m off to get some breakfast and then get back to work. Have a good week everybody.

Peace and blessings.

7 thoughts on “Greetings from Asbury Park, and a huge round of thanks…

  1. Hi “Maestro“…how r u?
    I have to tell you a little thing…dope!
    Can you tell where i find some music sheets, or score sheets `bout the great Roy Ayers?
    Thx u so much…
    Peace&Happiness
    JazzyPier

  2. Hey Hey Vince – Another thumping mix from the number 1 funkmonger

    Great to hear Get Into Something getting an airing – I like to mix it into Anandar Shankar – Jumping Jack Flash. Have got a great version of Pucho and the Latin Soul Brothers doing Got Myself A Good Man – somewhere too.

    Keep on dishing up the sizzlers

  3. PS I may be doing a set myself this Friday – so may take a leaf or two out of your live set cookbook if that’s ok – No Matter What Sign You Are IS Mrs Mondo’s fave Motown tune- great to see that get an airing as well.
    When are you gonna be hitting the UK to spin us these winners live

  4. Hey Vince! Thanks for the comment on the mix, no where near your league i must say! Some very gorgeous soul tunes on this mix. Haha! Well, anyfriend of DJ Blueprint must be a friend of mine too! I’ll be making a more soul-focused mix soon for this rain to go away!

    Take care, keep in touch

    MissTxx

Leave a Reply

