Eat and Run (including Sisters Unite… the return of AntiDivas)

Hello, kiddies.

It’s Christmas time. be very afraid… just kidding.

At any rate, I am struggling for free time to post, but not struggling for tunes to put in the truck. Over the course of seven days or so, I managed to accomplish a lot. Not necessarily all good, but nonetheless…It helps that there’s a lull in the work schedule, even with having to work seven days a week. These are just a few of the pitfalls that I face every year around this time, but as I said before, I still found time to get a bunch of great mixes done that I am just dying to lay on you all. Now in the interest of time, and the fact that I’ve been a little tardy in spreading the goodness around, I intend to sock it to all of you “…long deep wide and consecutive”, quoting one of my fave funky 45s from the way back file. I won’t waste time here because there’s still a lot to get done. As I stated last week, I have a dual purpose. I’ve been hard at work in the kitchen preparing mouthwatering goodies for holiday gifts, in turn sharing some of these goodies with all of you. Whatever you do, don’t let the commercial nonsense of the “holidaze” stress you out too bad. I for one am trying real hard with some relative success. The shopping is just about done, the baking and cooking are ongoing, Leslie and I will get a tree this weekend provided we don’t get snowed in. It looks as if things are right on schedule. With that said, let’s get right down to it because not only is time of the essence, but I still have lots more treats to give to all of you before the year’s end.

Here is the seventh installment of AntiDivas y’all. It’s a bit of a handful, but what I hope to accomplish here is to say thank you to each and every one of you because whether you know it or not, you all helped to make this possible. Through so many means, I learned alot this past year, and I would like to show my gratitude by posting this multimedia exercise full of many and various tunes that I have been hipped to and/or lucky enough to find. I am dedicating this one to my friend KT. Happy Birthday, baby! Leslie and I are all stoked about your upcoming visit…

antidivas-7-graphic_small.jpg

01 I’m A Woman (I’m A Backbone)-Rufus Featuring Chaka Khan
02 Under The Influence Of Love-Love Unlimited
03 No Matter What Sign You Are-Diana Ross & The Supremes
04 Trippin’ On The Sound-Jeannie Tracy
05 I Promise To Wait My Love-Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
06 You’re The Fool-The Three Degrees
07 Strike-The Union
08 Not By Bread Alone-Kim Tomango
09 You Did It-Ann Robinson
10 The Honeydripper-Delores Ealy and The kenyattas With Jimmy Liggins Guitar And Orchestra
11 Git In There (Alternate Mix)-Betty Davis
12 Something For Nothing-Natalie Cole
13 Baby You’re Right-Helena Hollins
14 As Good As You’ve Been To This World-Janis Joplin
15 Sweetback-Viola Wills
16 Young And Dumb-Fanny
17 Got Myself A Good Man-Gladys Knight & The Pips
18 Git Back-Sugar Pie DeSanto
19 Sister funk-Gloria Williams
20 Brother Louie-The Undisputed Truth
21 When Will It End-The Honey Cone
22 Crumbs Off The Table-The Glass House
23 Super Cool-Carrie Riley & The Fascinations
24 Sweep Around Your Own Back Door-Lulu
25 I’m A Good Woman-Barbara Lynn
26 Women’s Love Rights-Laura Lee

…and because you’ve been extra good this year, here’s more…

antidivas-7-1_2-graphic_small.jpg

01 Love Me Tomorrow-Sergio Mendes’ New Brasil ’77
02 The First Thing I Do In The Morning-Joyce Williams
03 The Game Of Love-Ike & Tina Turner
04 How Long (Betcha Got A Chick On The Side)-The Pointer Sisters
05 Now That You Got It-Millie Jackson
06 Moon Shadow-Labelle
07 Goin’ Man Huntin’-Jo Ann Garrett
08 Don’t Leave Me Starving For Your Love-Laura Lee
09 In Misery-The Edetts With The Famosas
10 Papa’s Got The Wagon-Gloria Walker
11 Anna’s Thing-Anna Raye
12 Two Fools-Francine King
13 Honky Games-Iris Bell
14 Why Can’t There Be Love-Dee Edwards
15 Save Me-Barbara Davis
16 Hip Breakin’-Little Denise
17 Am I The Same Girl-Barbara Acklin
18 One Room Paradise-Aretha Franklin
19 The Message From The Soul Sisters-Vicky Anderson
20 The Dance Man-Keisa Brown
21 My Love (Is So Strong)-Angela Davis
22 I Don’t Want Your Love-Wanda Howard
23 Look What You’ve Done To Me-Sheila Skipworth
24 Hang On In There-The Stovall Sisters
25 Seperate Or Integrate-Etta James
26 Viramundo-Sergio Mendes’ Brasil ’66

Please download and enjoy AntiDivas No. 7 and No. 7 1/2. You’ll find the appropriate links below…

No. 7  in Mixed or Zipped files, 71 MB
No. 7 1/2 in Mixed or Zipped files, 73 MB

Like the title says, I hate to eat and run, but I plan to continue this onslaught of recipes coming your way. Before I go, I want to once again thank ALL of you for hanging in there with me. I hope to be back at least once more before Christmas Day and once again in two weeks to celebrate Fufu Stew’s first anniversary!!! I’ve also made plans to pay another visit to DJ Blueprint’s place on Monday armed with another exclusive guest mix, so keep on the watch… At any rate, I’ll be back in a couple of shakes so be good and as always, be safe.

Peace and blessings.

11 thoughts on “Eat and Run (including Sisters Unite… the return of AntiDivas)

  1. hi vincent… you’re blowing me away… 52 songs in two mixes and all in one post! how many 45’s do you own? i’m really looking forward to the 1 year celebrations… mike

  2. Hi Vince those 3 recent mixes are stunning – It was my Birthday yesterday – we had a Saturday night tear up on the night before and the soundtrack was both Anti Divas mixes (Mrs Mondo loves these mixes ) and Talkin’ Loud – All 3 were played over and over all night long- a tip top time was had by all . Thanks so much for dishing up these sizzlers. Ps as birthday treat I’ve loaded up a couple of rare Luther Ingram tracks on Planet Mondo if you fancy a peep. – and will loading up a Merry Mixmas mini mix this Friday

  3. Brilliant mixes. By the way, “Separate Or Integrate” is Koko Taylor, not Etta James. It was released as Checker 1210 in 1968, b/w I Don’t Care. It’s an incredible number.

  4. Thank you, W for the information. I’ve been wanting to know what that was for a year now. I bought a Status Quo 45 (“Technicolour Dreams” b/w “Spicks and Specks”) and this track appeared instead. Apparently it was a factory misprint

Leave a Reply

