Chef needs records badly (including Fufu Funk Fix No. 4)

Hello, kiddies.

Home stretch, y’all. I managed to once again find myself fighting in the trenches for those last minute Christmas gifts… I guess secure online ordering isn’t really all it’s cracked up to be after all, or I really am a glutton for punisment. As much as I grinched along expressing my displeasure for the hype that surrounds this most wonderful time of year, I really find myself acting more like a five year old kid enduring a sleepless night in the hopes that mommy will let me go downstairs and rip open lots of presents. It’s really amazing how the “holidaze” brings out the kid in all of us, no matter how frustrating it may seem to be. At least it’s all done so now all that’s left is to give you all your Christmas presents.

For months now, I’ve been thinking about what to post as this is also the climax of Fufu Stew’s first year in the blogisphere. While in New Jersey back in September, I approached the Three Wise Men (I’ll explain later) and asked them if they would be willing to let me add their names to a mix. Thankfully I got a positive response, so I sifted through mountains of ingredientss looking for the right mix that would show my gratitude for the many blessings that they bestowed upon me over the past two years. No sense in telling a lie, I AM a full fledged vinyl junkie (no surprise there)… It’s also no surprise that I have not only learned a great deal of information, but spent a lot of cash and filled many a digital pantry along the way. There’s only one thing left to do now and that’s get more because too much is just not enough. Own Guru, El Suprimo, The Fire Hall… I’M COMIN’ HOME!!! Oh yeah, and I will also have lots of fun seeking out and obtaining a few of those extra special 45s that I would normally give my right arm to obtain. See, all I really want for Christmas is more 45s, and since I put that on my wish list, and I’ve really been kinda’ good, my wish will come to fruition. Yeah I know it’s supposed to be a surprise and all, but the mail came today with the first of what I hope to be several donations to the cause of stocking up on lots of newly acquired vinyl.

This is the first of three Fufu Funk Fixes featuring tunes that were either inspired by, bought or obtained from Jamison, Lou and Larry, who as you probably guessed, are the Three Wise Men… (see the Christmas influence?) Just like the three who were a part of that age old Bible story bringing many and various gifts to the baby Jesus, these men go to great lengths to make sure that all of us soulful children can share in their many many musical gifts and extensive knowledge. As is always the case, I say thanks to all of you for your kindness. So without further ado, here we go…

fufufunk4graphic_sm.jpg 

01 Introspeak by Laurie Anderson / Persuasion
02 Sugar T.-Willie Mitchell (Hi)
03 The Philly Freeze-Alvin Cash (Mar V Lus)
    Interspeak by Joe Strummer
04 It’s L B Time-Joe Youngblood (exSPECTmore)
05 Santa’s Got Bag Of Soul-Soul Saints Orchestra (Hotpie & Candy) because it is Christmas and all…
06 Funky Chick-The Majestics (Morsound)
07 Everybody Needs Somebody-King Floyd (Chimneyville)
08 HLIC-Bobo Mr. Soul (Ovide)
09 Charge It Up Baby-Soul Chargers Feat. William Wright (American)
10 Move With The Groove-Bull & The Matadors (Toddlin’ Town)
11 Right On Right On Right On-Milt Grayson And The Mystery Guests (Peak)
12 Booty Butt-Ray Charles Orchestra (Tangerine)
13 Hung Over-The Martinis (Bar)
14 Shake A Poo Poo-Chet Ivey (Tangerine)
   Interspeak by Rufus Thomas
15 Push And Pull Pt. 1-Rufus Thomas (Stax)
16 Take It Home To Mother-Clarence Reid (Alston)
17 Heavy Hips-The Flamingos (Ronze)
18 Girl In The Hot Pants-Soul Bros. Inc. (SBI)
19 Soul Feeling Pt. 1-Eddy G. Giles (Murco)
20 Get Into Something Pt. 1-Isley Brothers (T Neck)
21 Stereo Freeze Pt. 1-The Stereos (Cadet)
22 Stereo Freeze Pt. 2-The Stereos (Cadet)
23 Nobody’s Fault But Mine-Otis Redding (Atco)
24 Bill Cosby – Hikky Burr Pt. 1 (UNI)
25 Hung Up-Salt (Choctaw)
26 All Your Goodies Are Gone-The Parliaments (Revilot)
27 Have A Little Mercy-The South Side Movement (Wand)
28 Soul March-The Fatback Band (Perception)
    Exitus by KRS One

Please download and enjoy Fufu Funk Fix No. 4, 72 MB

Here’s the link for the .mp3 file
Here’s the link for the .zip file 

And now for the closing commentary…

Yes, I’m tootin’ horns again.
First of all, I want to thank Lou the Pusherman for his never ending kindness and co operation in the making of this recipe as a few of the tunes are here through the courtesy of his wonderful site. And now for the plug, head on over and show your love because he has blessed us once again with another funky ass hour of power!

I want to thank the mighty DJ Prestige again for hipping me to Audacity, and also for the opportunity to join in the Asbury 45 session fun. You’ve been super and I swear I’ll never forget it…

I want to thank Larry for all of the support that he has given me over here in the Fufu Stew kitchen. It’s no secret that the Funky 16 Corners is by far the best blog EVER, and getting endorsements from him for what I am putting down is a real honour.

And to each and every blogger who has a link to the right, it’s been a pleasure to be able to be part of such a wonderful community. Thank you all for your continuous blessings.

I am so looking forward to hanging in there with you for lots more in 2008. I tell you, it’s only the beginning so stay tuned…

Peace and blessings.

5 thoughts on “Chef needs records badly (including Fufu Funk Fix No. 4)

  1. Your’re one CLASSY cat! THANK YOU so much for all you’ve shared this year, be it music, knowledge, or just taking the time to leave a kind word. This is definitely a spot that when a new post pops up, I get crazy excited cause I now it’s gonna be special. All the best to you, Chef. Have a wonderful Christmas and an even better New Year!!!!

    Peace and SOUL from your Brutha down in Funky VA,
    Dave…

  2. Got a chance to listen to the mix a few times today while finishing up some work at the office. ACE!!! “Santa’s Got A Bag OF SOUL” is about the FUNKiest Christmas song I’ve ever heard. As always, LOADS of stuff that is new to me. Cheers!!

    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave…

    …I think I’ll go ahead and hit play AGAIN on this one!

  3. hi vincent… you are diggin deeper and deeper… do you have an original copy of the soul saints orchestra? if yes, you’re really lucky… the poets’ releases are really hard to find now… hung up by salt is one of my all time favs, but it’s impossible to find an original copy… the only known copys were all bought by jan weissenfeldt… he found a whole box and he bought 5 copys… when he went back to the shop to buy some more, the owner told him that he threw the rest of the box away!… mike

Leave a Reply

