Hey Pres, I finally got a portable!

Hello, kiddies.

I want to start today by publically saying thanks to Larry for his glowing testimonial over at WFMU’s Beware Of The Blog. If you are dropping in from there, welcome aboard! There’s lots of food here that’s just dying to get eaten so come hungry and I hope you’ll leave happy wanting to come again and again…

Yet another extra special day here in the kitchen. Leslie and I shared Valentines Day sentiments on Saturday due to her not feeling too well on Thursday and me not having much liquid cash until Friday. We really don’t go too overboard on occasions such as these. She’s not a jewelry freak (and thank God for that), and all I ever really crave are 45s (no surprise there). Anyway, when we exchanged cards and such, she brought out a huge box. I was expecting the contents to have such things as long johns and sweatsuits (my attire of choice on these cold wintry days), but I nearly shit my pants when I saw what was really inside…

pt01_angle_med.jpg

…and how appropriate, considering the monthly record show took place yesterday in beautiful downtown Arbutus. All of the usual vendors (and even an appearance by the mighty Guru) were on hand to siphon every last penny that I had in my pocket. I even got to put my hands on one of those grubby Dayton Sidewinders 45s that allegedly go for hundreds of dollars! Not that I could afford to buy it or anything, and thankfully both sides are available for peanuts thanks to Funkadelphia… It did feel real good to be able to once and for all try before I bought, so no turds came home as you can see from the impressive list:

Marvin’s Groove b/w Generated Love-B.W. Souls (Round). What a friggin’ value! Thanks, Ray!
Kool And The Gang-Melting Pot (Ampex). I saved big bucks on this one too, just like DJ Blueprint!
Truck In-Midnight Movers Unltd. (Renee)
I Can’t Get No Satisfaction-Jimmy McGriff (Solid State)
L.C. Funk-Lee Williams & The Cymbals (Rapda)
The Funky Waltz-The Eleventh House with Larry Coryell (Vanguard)
Break A Way-Irma Thomas (Imperial)
Day Tripper-The Vontastics (St. Lawrence)
Pata Pata-Miriam Makeba (Reprise)
Percolatin’ (alternate take) b/w Check Me-Willie Mitchell (Hi)
Piece Of My Heart b/w Baby What You Want Me To Do-Erma Franklin (Shout)
Cool Jerk-The Capitols (Karen).
I really need to give Rob his box back…
Push Push Push b/w Bang Bang-Joe Cuba Sextet (Tico)
Goin’ Down Slow-Aretha Franklin (Atlantic).
Yes, I noticed the extreme amount of traffic over at Fufu Snax…
I’m Your Hoochie Koochie Man b/w Ooh Poo Pah Do-Skip Easterling (Instant). This time, it’s like night and day when it comes to the sound quality… a nice (and CHEAP) minty fresh copy!!!
Do The Boomerang b/w Tune Up-Jr. Walker & The All Stars (Soul)
Keep On Dancing-Alvin Cash (Toddlin’ Town).
A cratedigger’s wet dream, at least for me anyway… and I saved a batload of cash too! All I need now is “Stone Thing pts. 1&2” (Westbound), and life will be complete… I normally don’t ask for requests, but if anyone is willing to donate an mp3 in the meantime, I’ll be your best friend…
Monkey Spanner-Dave And Ansill Collins (Big Tree)
20-75-Willie Mitchell (Hi, imported from Canada)
Sexy Coffee Pot b/w Boom Boom Boom-Tony Alvon & The Belairs (Atlantic reissue)
Get It Together pts. 1&2-James Brown (King)

…and on a huge whim, I dropped by one of my old spots on Saturday and found these goodies:

Funky Granny-Kool & The Gang (De-Lite)
Back Up-The Manhattans (DeLuxe)
I Turned You On-The Isley Brothers (T-Neck)

diningroom.jpg

As one would guess by looking at what used to be my dining room table, an all new all 45 rpm exercise is coming, as well as some brand spanking new Fufu Snax. I have a whole two back to back days off in which to do some much needed “Soul searching”. In the meantime, continue to enjoy the guest post from Mr. Double Down, and be sure to drop by their place to check out what I cooked up for them. I am looking forward to cooking up more goodies for The Hook And Sling team in the future. If any of you bloggers out there are interested in joining in the fun, be sure to drop me a line. I’ll be sending out special (and not necessarily mandatory) invitations to all of the usual suspects in the coming week. Next on the menu is a contribution from Nitro-Retro with a wide assortment of dishes that I’m sure will please you all. I’ll be back real soon, ‘k?

Peace and blessings.

9 thoughts on “Hey Pres, I finally got a portable!

  1. Hey Vincent.
    Congrats on the portable!

    My Vestax has been a constant companion since I got it about 2 years ago.
    Pres is right as some dealers get a little torqued when you hit the reject button on a 45 after spinning it.

    cheers,
    RB

  2. so…soul chef…did you pick up the dayton sidewinders 45 or not?!? just wondering. very to eager to find out more about those cats because:

    1. i grew up in and live in dayton (land of the FUNK)
    2. the only track i have of theirs is from the excellent ‘Cold Heat’ comp on Now-Again; it’s their cover of War’s Slippin’ Into Darkness

  3. No, polk. I did not buy the 45 for a couple of reasons. 1) the complete recorded works of the Dayton Sidewinders are readily available for download at eMusic. The comp is called “Let’s Go Down To Funksville” which ironically enough is the one of the tracks on the 45. 2)The flip side of the 45 is “Slippin’ Into Darkness”. Don’t get me wrong, I would have loved to buy one. Apparently there are only a few hundred in existence that were rescued from the basement of one of the original members of the band. When the vendor told me how much they cost, I immediately said no can do, I have the comp on CD in much better quality.
    I highly recommend starting a trial subscription to eMusic; their selection of funk compilations is second to none in my opinion.

  4. vincent!

    congrats on the portable!

    yea ive been thinking of getting the dayton 45… from what i can recall there are actually 2 releases of that record, the second release being a little bit less pricey…. i think they just changed the color of the label, was go ahead on the name of the flip? i could be wrong though?

    • Thanks zoe. I sadly cannot afford a copy of the 45 as it is steadily increasing in price (last time I checked it sold for about $125 USD). An esteemed colleague graciously hooked me up with an mp3 which I promptly cut and pasted into a nice extended version however. You are more than welcome to check it out here. Now if I can find one for cheap (by default, I never spend more than 30 bucks for a 45), then I am all over it, but I don’t think that is likely to happen any time soon. I’ll still keep hoping… and digging πŸ™‚

      Peace and blessings.

Leave a Reply

