Three is the magic number (including Good Things Come In 33.3s)

Hello, kiddies.

Here I am once again with another mouthwatering blue plate special. Before I get to the business at hand, I’d like to first of all thank everyone who has agreed to “Come On In My Kitchen”. As the mixes come in, I’ll be sure to get ’em served up for all of you to enjoy. Here’s just a partial list of the fine bloggers already lined up to provide their patented goodness for your hungry souls…

Cratedigger
The Devil’s Music
Diddywah
HeavySoulBrutha
Fleamarket Funk
Iron Leg
Jazz Syndicate Radio

Parkdale Funk
Planet Mondo
The Stepfather Of Soul
This Is Tomorrow

Next up, I’d like to send a warm welcome to the newest member of the Fufu army, Slim Jenkins and his Kikin-Bakk blog. (I fixed the link, Slim…) It lives up to its name, that’s for sure. His posts don’t last long so check him out on the regular for your dose, and be sure to show your love…

Okay, let’s get down to business because here in Baltimore they’re calling for another bout of winter weather, a staggering 1-4 inches of precipitation which is sure to bring things to a crawl! I wanted to get out and stock up on milk, bread and toilet paper today (who am I kidding, you know I meant new records), but I really wanted to get this new recipe finished so my priorities had to be change. The theme here is simple: while everyone (myself included) remains all up in arms about collecting those long sought after 45s, where does that really leave those LPs. Well, I solved the problem by choosing a few deep album cuts, some common and some rare. You all know how I like those, so for this all vinyl exercise, I like to say that

333graphic_sml.jpg 

Now while I was in the process of assembling this, I noticed that a couple of the tunes I chose were featured on other blogs. I do guarantee that each choice is from my personal collection, however in the interest of fairness, I will give big shouts to Kikin-Bakk, Funky Disposition and the mighty Baby Grandpa for prompting me to dig out my dusty LPs since they are so good… Here’s the menu:

introspeak by Fred Wesley
01 Let Your Hair Down-The Temptations (Gordy)
02 Hot Mud-Afrique (Mainstream)
03 Hypocrisy-Millie Jackson (Spring)
04 Making Love-Fred Wesley & The New JBs (People)
05 What It Is-The Undisputed Truth (Gordy)
06 Super Woman-Beginning Of The End (Alston)
07 Give The Women What They Want-The Isley Brothers (T Neck)
08 Satisfaction Guaranteed-Rare Earth (Rare Earth)
09 Why Why Baby-The Softones (Avco)
10 You And Your Folks, Me And My Folks-Funkadelic (Westbound)
11 Born To Wander-Maceo & All The Kings Men (Excello)
12 I Got Love-Watts 103rd St. Rhythm Band (Warner Bros.)
13 Into My Own Thing-Sly & The Family Stone (Epic)
14 Short Change-Ohio Players (Westbound)
15 Get A Little Lovin’-The Walter Murphy Band (Private Stock)
16 Don’t It Make You Feel Guilty-Gladys Knight & The Pips (Soul)
17 Quick Draw-The Commodores (Motown)
18 Everybody Wanna Live On-The Masqueraders (Hot Buttered Soul)
19 Hole In The Wall-The Bar Kays (Volt)
20 We People Who Are Darker Than Blue-Curtis Mayfield (Curtom)

Please download and enjoy Good Things come in 33.3s, 72 MB either mixed or zipped

and now for the closing commentary…

I’ve been reading posts from most of my favourite blogs recently where the bloggers are showing increased frustration over the lack of reader commentary. I won’t speak in great length on the subject, but I’d like to simply say that it would be really cool to meet some more of you who drop by to grab a plate. Think of it as going to your favourite restaurant and having the manager visit your table just to make sure that the food tastes good and the service is up to snuff. Don’t get me wrong, I am very happy for all of the near 90,000 hits that I’ve recieved over the past fourteen months, and I’m certainly not complaining about the other stats. My main goal is to continue to make this spot better and better with each entry, so your input is definitely encouraged and would most assuredly be appreciated… I will do my best to respond to as many of you as I can in a timely fashion, either in the comment box or with a personal email. While this issue is forcing more and more sites to go private or shut down, it won’t affect the future of Fufu Stew. On the contrary, it will in most cases benefit you, my beloved patrons. I’ll get down off of the soapbox now.

I’m preparing to go on another tour in the coming weeks with new guest mixes for Cratedigger, Jazz Syndicate Radio, Planet Mondo and Parkdale Funk. I look forward to the challenge of keeping the freeform flowing for a good long time so I’ll keep you up to speed with the progress. I am also going to continue sending out invitations to more of my favourite spots for the Come On In My Kitchen series so keep an eye on you inbox, fellow bloggers. Your invite will be coming soon…

Have a good weekend everybody, and as always, be safe.

Peace and blessings.

P.S. Good news! I just heard from Lou the Pusherman and he has also agreed to join in on the fun! Anybody who knows me knows that I really go for his righteous selection of 45 rpm goodness so this is a real treat for me. I’ll have more news on this suprise development as it becomes available so don’t go far, ‘k?

13 thoughts on “Three is the magic number (including Good Things Come In 33.3s)

  1. hi vincent! i’m downloading right now, can’t wait to hear the selections. thanks for sharing all these great tunes. and thanks for all the recent emails, i hope to meet you in real life sometime soon. i hope you manage to come over to europe. keep up the good work. mike

  2. Hi vincent thanks for coming back and leaving another comment that album is my all time number one i really appreciate the fact that you had to comment again check back cos im trying to put together a few holy grail library / kpm albums .
    Its so difficult to come up with stuff that isnt all over the blogasphere and ive got a couple that i would like to share with the select few so email me and i will sort you a link out once again THANKS

  3. Chef,

    This one looks great! I had a “Deep Cut” mix in mind myself and it looks like you beat me to it. You won’t hold it against me if I still do mine will’ya? Can’t wait to check out these joints.

    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave…

  4. Thanks for the props and letting me into the Soul Kitchen.

    The digging was sort of weak this past weekend, but I should have enough to get it together. Your hiphop mix was bumping the funkwagon, though.

    Did you ever get that Flac file issue figured out?

    Stay cool,
    RB

Leave a Reply

