Fufu Stew Goes MONDO!

Hello, kiddies.

I can breathe a sigh as the 100,000 mark has come and gone. Again, thank you all for choosing Fufu Stew… An even bigger thank you goes out to the kids who blessed this spot with their guest offerings in recent weeks. You know that you helped me reached the milestone that much faster, considering that I have been struck with a bout of laziness (or should I say inability to get all the new acquisitions of vinyl organised and such) and ol’ Bessie has a space fan strapped to her motherboard to keep from overheating. It also doesn’t help that I’ve been saddled with another blinding headache, but enough about my problems. Let’s get back to the reason why I dropped by…

I did a bit of deep digging into my childhood a few weeks back which resulted in a special guest post that is being hosted by my good friend Dave over at Planet Mondo. It’s been some years since I pulled out my New Wave records, so as a bit of an exchange for the tremendous Mod mix that Dave did for me, I in turn did a hefty mix of some of my fave New Wave, and Goth nuggets that can be had by visiting his fine site…

mondographic_sml.jpg

01 Capitol Radio-The Clash (NU-Disk)
02 Friends-TheTubeway Army (Beggars Banquet)
03 Judas Sheep-Hunters And Collectors (Virgin)
04 Metal-Gary Numan (Beggars Banquet)
05 Saturday Week-Katrina And The Waves (Aftermath)
06 Big Shot-The Beat (Fame)
07 Nightboat To Cairo-Madness (Stiff)
08 Belief-The Danse Society (Society)
09 Malpaso Man-Visage (Polydor)
10 Press Darlings-Adam And The Ants (CBS)
11 Baby Oh No-Bow Wow Wow (RCA)
12 Armalite Rifle-Gang Of Four (Warner)
13 Anti Pope-The Damned (Chiswick)
14 Assassination K – Kanserous-The Wolfgang Press (4AD)
15 Supernatural Thing-Siouxsie & The Banshees (Polydor)
16 Telegram Sam-T. Rex (EMI)
17 It’s Going To Happen-The Undertones (EMI)
18 Madness-The Belle Stars (Stiff)
19 Chicken Outlaw-Wide Boy Awake (RCA)
20 Chant No. 1 (I Don’t Need This Pressure On)-Spandau Ballet (Chrysalis)
21 Resurrection Joe-The Cult (Beggars Banquet)

Head on over to Planet Mondo and check out this little freefrom exercise. Once in a while, I tend to play something other than the usual Funk and Soul… And speaking of Funk and Soul, I hope to have something new for you kids to dine and dance to for your holiday festivities. Let’s just hope the headaches don’t get in the way…

Again, I want to thank everyone who helped make Fufu Stew a success, and I especially want to thank and say hello to all of the wonderful people I met along the way… Let’s keep on fighting the good fight together. Everyone have a good day and as always, be safe.

Peace and blessings.

4 thoughts on “Fufu Stew Goes MONDO!

  1. Hey Vince

    Thanks so much for that fantastic mix – It’s on heavy rotation right now.

    I’ll definitely be digging out some more Numanoid bits after rehearing these electro crackers

    Found this on youtube a vid for one of the tracks in the mix – hope you enjoy it – sure you will 😉

  2. hey fufu and planet mondo – excellent work on the new wave mix. for those of us that came up in the eighties this stuff is like pure gold. i have had an adam and the ants’ track, ‘xerox’ on heavy rotation on the ipod for some time now. this will fit in there nicely! thx all.

  3. Hi Polk It’s a great mix – I gut lucky when I bought
    ‘Zerox’ back in eighties – without knowing I got 1 of only 2000 pressings with ‘Physical’ on the B side (labelled as ‘Physical’ though)

    7″: 1980 UK (Do-It DUN 8) [‘secret’ pressing; x2000]
    3:46 Zerox
    3:56 Physical [‘secret’ version]

    Have you checked out Marco’s new band The Wolfmen? I was lucky enough to get an Exclusive Q and A with him where he talks, about Punk, Ants, Glam and the greatest single of all time

    It’s right here
    http://planetmondo.blogspot.com/2008/03/prowling-wolf-marco-pirroni-pt-2.html

  4. man, i have been so busy lately that i haven’t been able to make all my regular blog rounds… i’ve got a helluva lot of catching up to do around here!

    (and this Mondo Mix is a terrific way to start!)

Leave a Reply

