Share and share alike (including Fufu Funk Fix No. 5)

Hello, kiddies.

I trust you all are getting your fill of the mighty Diddywah’s goodies.

It’s been a very taxing week as I said the other day. With a little luck, it’ll all be over when I get a full day off on Sunday… It’ll be the first day off that I’ve had in a few weeks, and believe me, I plan to take full advantage of the rest and relaxation.

As promised, it’s time for me to do a little cooking, and it couldn’t have happened at a better time as my kit just took a painful shit yesterday. That makes it kind of hard to get the vinyl digitised around these parts, so as part of the R&R, I’ll be spending some time doing a little detail cleaning…

I really needed a big dose of Funk to get me through this week, and the multimedia exercise I have for you all today is what has been helping me to keep my sanity. I won’t get all long winded because I really am tired right now. I’ll let the tunes do the talking instead. Before I begin, I absolutely must send big shouts to my friend DJ Blueprint for his invaluable assistance in making this one possible. All of the tunes in ths mix come from various compilations, most of which are sadly out of print but still can be obtained through various means… As the introspeak states:

 “…I need a fix ‘cos I’m goin’ down.”  – John Lennon & Paul McCartney

ff5graphic_smlpos.jpg

01 A Mellow Good Time (Part 2)-Lee Dorsey
02 Black Water Gold-African Music Machine
03 Backtalk Pts. 1&2-2nd Amendment Band
04 As Good As I Can Feel-Funkadelic
05 From The Love Side-Hank Ballard
06 Alcohol Pt. 1-Robert Jay
07 Rover Or Me-Good Time Charlie
08 Fat ‘n’ Funky-Charles Crawford
09 Stay Together-Soul Excitement
10 Tresspasin’-Skull Snaps
11 98 Cents Plus Tax-Detroit City Limits
12 Heart ‘n’ Soul-Booker T. Averheart
13 Skunk Juice-The Pazant Brothers
14 The Tramp (From Funky Broadway)-The Showmen Inc.
15 I’m Afraid Of The Dark-Jonny K.
16 Just A Moment-George Danquah
17 Naturally Good-Bartel
18 Funky Chicken-The Dynamic Concepts
19 The Funky Mule Pt. 2-Marvin Holmes & The Uptights
20 Funky Four Corners-Richard Mark
21 Color Me-People In The News
22 Upstairs On Boston Road Pt. 2-Sammy Gordon & The Hiphuggers
23 Society-The Society
24 I’m Gonna Get Your Thing-Lee Harris
25 The Bull Is Coming-Lee Fields & The Devil’s Person Band
26 Tippin’ Lightly-Smokey Johnson
exitus by the Ohio Players

Please download and enjoy Fufu Funk Fix No. 5

Here is the link to the mp3 file
Here is the link to the zip file

and now for the closing commentary…

First of all, I want to send a shoutout to the Asbury Park gang and let ’em know that I will be tuned in to JamNow for the ONE YEAR anniversary edition of the Asbury 45 Sessions. You all should do the same (unless you are fortunate enough tho check it out live at the World Famous Asbury Lanes)… As always, the show kicks off at 9:00 EST.

I also want to hip you all to another venture that I am involved in courtesy of Jazz Syndicate Radio. I am pleased to announce that I have a special guest mix that will be a part of Tony C’s Melting Pot program. The show will air next Tuesday at jazzsyndicate.co.uk starting at 8:00 GMT (4:00 EST for those of you in my part of the world)… This is the first time that I’ve been on the radio (internet or otherwise) since 1987, so I hope you all get to check it out.

I ate too much cheese today, so I’m off to prevent a headache from ruining the weekend. I have another fix on tap which will serve as a relaxing finish to an otherwise very stress filled week. Rock on, kids. Have a good weekend and as always, be safe.

Peace and blessings.

4 thoughts on “Share and share alike (including Fufu Funk Fix No. 5)

  1. Vincent,

    I am downloading the latest mix on here as it looks to be a dope one.

    Thanks for stopping by Eclectic Grooves. I am glad that you were willing to give Nigeria Special another chance. I’m curious what you thought of the tracks that I posted. There are some serious slamming grooves on there. Also, just posted a live Ornette Coleman show if you get into free jazz at all.

    Peace, Kevin

    http://eclectic-grooves.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

