A prelude to my swan song (including Talking Loud And Saying Nothing No. 2)

Hello, kiddies.

While things have been looking bleak around these parts lately, I still try my best to make time to offer up a few goodies for my friends. Case in point is the latest mix that I did for my good friend the HeavySoulBrutha. In preparation for a much needed vinyl digging retreat (more on that in a later post), I pulled out a batch of instrumental 45s and came up with

“…ain’t no words to this song; you just dance and hum along.” – Norman Whitfield

01 Slick-Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass (A&M)
02 Come See About Me-Choker Campbell’s Big Band (Motown)
03 I’ve Been Saved-Leonard King & The Soul Messengers (Inferno)
04 Bear Mash-Ramsey Lewis (Cadet)
05 Ham Hocks Espanol-Jimmy Castor (Smash)
06 The Dock Of The Bay-The Soulful Strings (Cadet)
07 Bad Night-Sammy Ambrose (Musicor)
08 Hole In The Wall-The Packers (Pure Soul)
09 Listen Here-Jay Jackson & The Heads Of Our Time (Mr. G)
10 Beware Of The Dog-Georgie Fame (Epic)
11 Getting Right-Baby Cortez (Checker)
12 Shot In The Dark-The Da-Kars (Josie)
13 Pata Pata-Ray Bryant (Cadet)
14 Soul Bossa Nova-Brenard Purdie (Date)
15 Late Late Party-The Martinis (Bar)
16 Theme From Electric Surfboard-Brother Jack McDuff (Blue Note)
17 Light My Fire-The Soul Merchants (Weis)
18 Miss Letha Jones-The Chargers (B.E.A.T)
19 The Chokin’ Kind-The Billy Mitchell Group (Calla)
20 99 Plus 1-Gentleman June Gardner (Blue Rock)
21 Buttered Popcorn-Bill Doggett (King)
22 Slow Drag-King Curtis (Capitol)
23 Night Fo’ Last-Shorty Long (Soul)
24 Soul Limbo-Booker T. & The MGs (Stax)
25 30-60-90-Willie Mitchell (Hi)
26 The Oogum Boogum Song-Freddie Robinson (World Pacific Jazz)
27 I’ll Lose My Mind-James Brown (King)

Please head on over to HeavySoulBrutha’s place and enjoy Talking Loud And Saying Nothing…

I do have one more silver dollar to lay on you all before my retreat begins. I’ll be back later in the week with the holiday Soul shot. Have a good one and as always, be safe.

Peace and blessings.

10 thoughts on “A prelude to my swan song (including Talking Loud And Saying Nothing No. 2)

  1. Vincent, don’t tell me you’re giving up Fufu Stew? I hope that everyting turns out okay for you. I know that a good vinyl digging retreat can’t hurt. After all, it’s good for the soul.

    On your latest mix, looks good. I recently dug up a copy of that Bill Doggett 45, probably my favorite one yet by him.

  2. Hi Vince!

    I am a big fan of your blog–I think it’s the best of its kind out there and you seem like a positive thoughtful brother.

    “Prelude to my swan song” sounds very ominous to me. I hope things are going better for you and that you can continue this blog in some form or another. You have given me–and countless others I’m sure–so much great music to listen to and learn about and I can’t thank you enough.

    Be well,

  3. say it is not so.
    (I don’t think so based on our correspondence)
    Keep up the good fight. Please don’t stop posting. I really enjoy hearing what you are able to conjure up in the soul kitchen,
    Best,
    RB

  4. VtSC: Hmmmm… “Swan Song”, don’t like the sound of that. I could write a very long and involved comment expressing similar thoughts to everyone else here but instead I’ll sum it up in a couple of simple words:

    DON’T GO!

    You are too good at this thang that you do. Hope things in your world get better and work out for the best.

Leave a Reply

