Here’s your holiday double shot (including TWO Funk fixes)

Hello, kiddies.

Well, the time has come. The next time we meet, I will no longer be a bachelor…

Before I get to the business at hand, I have an announcement: I was invited to be the newest member of the Four Brothers Beats team this week. For those of you who don’t know about ’em, I urge you to pay a visit to their spot. They have a good thing going on over there and the fact that they invited me to be a part of the team makes me feel pretty good. I just hope that I can live up to their standard of excellence… and speaking of excellence, it’s time to welcome two new freedom fighters to the growing army, Doctor Okeh’s And It Don’t Stop and the mighty Rock Savage!

Be sure to visit and support their fine blogs.

Now that all that’s taken care of, let me get the party started. I put this recipe together rather quickly this time because lil’ truck was in need of some new sounds to scare the other divers around me. I know I’m not alone when I say that not too many people know how to drive very well, and with the drive to Delaware being rather tedious (the Bay Bridge is always a nightmare), I was in need of some heavy Funk to make the time go by just a bit faster… This is the first half of the sixth installment of the mighty Fufu Funk Fix, which I hope will be a part of the soundtrack for whatever you have in store for the weekend. And even if you’re not celebrating the 4th of July next week, you don’t really need an excuse to shoot off fireworks and have some dinner on the ground, do you… go on. Do it anyway and have a blast!

01 Soul Pad-The Coasters
02 Blow Your Mind-The Interpretations
03 Do The Funky Donkey-Otis Turner And The Mighty Kingpins
04 Water Hole-Sam and The Soul Machine
05 Zambezi Pts 1&2-Fun Company
06 Smokey Feeling-Organization
07 Funky Hot Grits-Rufus Thomas
08 What So Never The Dance Pts. 1&2-Houseguests
09 It’s Alright-The Oceanliners
10 Sock Soul-The Bar-Kays
11 Here’s Some Dances-The 8 Minutes (thank you Mr. Double Down!)
12 Somebody in the World for You-The Mighty Hannibal
13 Hot Pants I’m Comin’-St. Vincent Latinaires
14 Sagittarius-Dennis Coffey
15 The Mouse-Senor Soul
16 Yo Yo-Rose Royce
17 You’re Wasting My Time (Special Cut n Paste Edition)-Billy Garner
18 Ton Of Dynamite-Frankie Crocker
19 Funky Moon Meditation-The Fabulous Moonlighters
20 E.V.A.-Jean Jacques Perry
21 Flight to Cuba-Fire

Please download and enjoy Fufu Funk Fix No. 6, 65 MB

Here’s the link to the mp3 file
Here’s the link to the zip file

Be sure to head over to The Right Side Of Funky to score the second half, and while you’re there, check out my Q&A session with The Beat Collector.

With that said, it’s time to pack up ol’ Bessie for the trip. Ten days of peace, rest, relaxation, dinner on the ground and of course solid tunage. We will be without an internet connection but still feel free to leave a comment or two. As always, the responses are greatly appreciated. Have a great weekend (Leslie and I sure will) and as always, be safe. I’ll see you all in a few days.

Peace and blessings.

Hey DJ Blueprint… glad to have you back

10 thoughts on “Here’s your holiday double shot (including TWO Funk fixes)

  1. Hey Vince conratulations on doing the decent thing – I hope your wedding is as hot as this mix (have you sorted your wedding tunes?) We had….

    Close To You (instrumental version) – Burt Bacharach
    (for the walk up the aisle)

    Look Of Love – Sergio Mendes
    Sunshine Of My Life (in french) – Sacha Distel and Brigette Bardot
    (during the signings)

    Love Me Do- Sandie Shaw
    (for the walk out)

    Keeping ’em crossed for you

    PS are we gonna see some pics?

  2. Vincent! Brother! You’re killin it! You have dope mixes on every blog site at the moment! When it comes to funk/soul 45 mixes you own the scene now!

    Good stuff man, you’re making me jealous.

  3. Damn nam, your resume keeps adding up! Fantastic news about you being added to a new family.

    As usual, the new drop is completely brilliant. I don’t have a long commute, but I agree that this should wake up the funk in the few passerbys I see slogging along in the AM.

    Have a relaxing time off with the missus.

  4. Sup Chef, Congrats to on both new additions (Wife and 4BB).
    Was wondering if that Houseguests group was the same group of musicians who left James Brown just before joining P-Funk. I remember jamming to a group with the same name who later surfaced on “America Eats It’s Young”

    (….”a Parlifunkadelic thang.”)

Leave a Reply

