Records Are Like Chocolate part ten (including the latest “Fire Haul”)

Hello, kiddies.

 

Call it another nice end to an otherwise shitty week… I call it just what the doctor ordered. And the new week will be spent cooking, in a sense. With all the domestic engineering pretty much out of the way, I can focus on more important things like serving up new batches of Fufu Stew! Now those of you who were thrown for a loop last week with my wife’s offerings, that was merely done to introduce you to the woman I married in June. She doesn’t get to play records much around here as I am usually hogging up the decks with the 45 rpm heat. I did the rght thing and made a compromise. I do enjoy digging through those timeless treasures of hers though; in fact, I plan to set up a couple of new features here. Call them guilty pleasures, as was evidenced by my guest post over at Devil Dick’s place. I’ll keep you abreast of the situations as they develop. Now with that bit of business out of the way, let’s get back to the regularly scheduled program already in progress.

As the decks continue to get hogged up by me and my latest batch of 45s, graciously provided by the usual suspects that see fit to drag all those boxes to the Arbutus Fire Hall every month without fail, I sip my coffee knowing that my work here has gladly just begun. I haven’t been able to attend a show in a few months, so this trip was well worth the nagging neck and backache, not to mention the big chunk it took out of my wallet. Oh well, I said that the domestic engineering is done so now it’s time to focus on lil’ ol’ M-E, and M-E wanted new 45s. That’s the story and I’m sticking to it!

Coming soon, another guest post… I’m gonna “shake it up” with Todd and Brian one more time in return for the wonderful mix they shared with us in July. I have some more guest selectors waiting at the door too. Now here’s where it gets real good: the newest installment of AntiDivas is also on tap! This one will be real special, I assure you. It ties in right nicely with the guest selectors’ arrival. I also have a couple of surprises in store for the Four Brothers Beats team (Soulbrotha, I’m gonna WIN – inside joke y’all)… Life’s good when I can play new records, and the list of new scores below shows just some of the sweet pieces that will be making their way to a piping hot pot of Fufu Stew in some shape or another.

Heavy Steppin’-Lou Toby & His Heavies b/w The Impeachment Story-Steel, Jake & Jeff (Peach-Mint)
Sanford & Son Theme (AKA The Streetbeater) b/w Summer In The City-Quincy Jones (A&M)
I’ll Be Good To You-Al Green(e) (Hot Line)
Vista Vista-Lee Dorsey (Amy)
Swamp Fever b/w Ode To Billie Joe-Mel Brown (Impulse)
Talkin’ Bout My Friends b/w Boogaloo Tramp-A.C. Reed (Nike)
I Get A Groove b/w You’re What’s Happening-Thomas East & The Fabulous Playboys (Toddlin’ Town)
Pick And Shovel b/w Blue On Green-The Touch (Lecasver)
Testify Pt.2-The Isley Brothers (T-Neck) thank you, Mrs. Vaccarino…mmmmwah 😉

Spooky b/w Night Rumble Part 2-The Fame Gang (Atlantic)
That Driving Beat b/w Everything Is Gonna Be Alright-Willie Mitchell (Hi) a fresher copy than the first…

Dry Spell-The Meters (Josie white label promo)
Listen Here-The Soulful Strings (Cadet)
Happy Feet b/w The Scratch-Robert Parker (NOLA)
Master Of Eyes (The Deepness Of Your Eyes)-Aretha Franklin (Atlantic)
Deuces Up Double Down Pts 1&2-Breakestra [Stones Throw jukebox(?) 45]

Joy-Isaac Hayes (Enterprise). Just because…
That’s How I Feel-The Crusaders (Chisa / Blue Thumb)
Save That Thing-The Rimshots (A-I)
Here Come Da Judge-The Buena Vistas (Marquee)
Hot Hot Pants b/w Life Is Like A Puzzle-The Village Soul Choir (Abbott)
Quicksand-King Curtis (Atco)

In closing, I want to persnonally thank all the beatmakers who entered the audio logo contest over at Four Brothers Beats. We narrowed down the search to what Lafayette calls the magnificent seven and from there, one beat will become our signature. If you are a regular 4BB visitor, I urge you to head on over and cast your vote. If not, then come on over and join the fun because things are going to get interesting real soon…

Thanks again to Ray, the fine gents at the “cheap table” whose names I will know next time I see them, and of course, the Vaccarinos. I hope to be back next month with some more greenbacks to spend. Jack and Guru, I’ll see you in a couple of weeks… I’m working dilligently on making the month of September an all 45 rpm affair which will hopefully mean the re-launch of Fufu Snax!!! I’ll keep my fingers crossed and see how it goes. Until the next time, have a good one and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

…and thanks for letting me rant a bit  🙂

3 thoughts on “Records Are Like Chocolate part ten (including the latest “Fire Haul”)

Leave a Reply

