Dateline 1973: The Saga Continues…

Hello, kiddies.

As promised, it’s time for that extra special post I told you about. Before I begin, I must send a few shoutouts: First, to King Megatrip for all the support and the plugs he’s given me in recent weeks. Be sure to visit and support King Megatrip’s blogspot and bmbx.org, where you can find hours and hours of great mixes. Thanks as always for showing your love.

Next, to Mr. Double Down for joining me in the second Soul Exchange set earlier this week. If you havent been there, be sure to check out this post here, then head over to The Hook And Sling for the rest…

To my man Mike from the College Square team (more on that note at the end of this post)…

To Guy Magic and W for your kind words over the past couple of weeks. Again, thanks for showing your love… we’ve got more in store for ya, that’s for sure!!!

and finally to DJ GA from Trunk Of F.U.N.K. By the time most of you read this post, the guest mix that I did for his fine site should be on line and ready for your aural consumption so head on over for an hour of 45 rpm power!!!

And now for today’s programme…

As the 45 rpm festival comes to a slow close, I took the opportunity to relive even more childhood memories. As most of you know, the year 1973 is very special to me for so many reasons. Most importantly, it was the year that I got my very first record player. How many of you fortysomethings remeber this old relic… take a stroll down memory lane with this vintage commercial


Yeah, I had one, and boy did I give it a workout! It was that first batch of 45s that my mom and my uncles gave me 35 years ago that still ring as clear in my head today as they did then. And believe me, if it weren’t for that batch of records, I probably wouldn’t have this blog today. I probably wouldn’t have gone to great lengths to spend my weekly allowance on records, and more important, I would probably be getting my ears dirty listening to the prefabricated Pop music drivel that is littering airwaves, record stores and the internet as we speak. Allow me to be fair though, there is a good amount of current music that is worthy of our attention, but as we all know, it continues to be smothered by music that is not, therefore making it difficult to seek out and obtain the stuff that is really good. Hell, I’ve said all this before so let’s get into the third chapter of the continuing saga of the portrait of the artist as a young cratedigger.

For those of you who are just tuning in, we left off with me having the golden opportunity to play my uncle’s rather eclectic record collection on his Pioneer PL 512 turntable… just like the one below.

Back then, that was state of the art technology to say the least, but to me, hearing those great tunes with that incredibly booming sound was all it took for me to get hooked on music. Now I wasn’t always allowed to use his equipment (especially after I damaged a couple of his stylii), so I had to try to recreate that experience with second hand equipment… Boy was it ever a classic example of trial and error as I would troubleshoot with various low grade record players and speakers. The mix that you are about to hear contains even more of those old 45s. Some of them are the original ones that were given to me back in ’73 (as the failing quality suggests). but this time around I plan to show the further evolution of my cratedigging experiences as well as shed some light on a few stories that go along with the records… The introspeak is the first four bars of a record that we used to listen to in Phys Ed class back in grade school called “Chicken Fat” as performed by Robert Preston. It was supposed to be an attempt to get us kids doing simple exercises like push ups, jumping jacks and such. Feel free to download a sample here. Who knows, some of you may have heard this record when you were in school… I vividly recall watching this record spin on an old Califone record player kind of like the one pictured in the graphic below.

It would be that same record player that would signal the beginning of my love for being an armchair DJ, but I’ll get into that a little later. Here’s the playlist (and a few label scans):

01 I Just Can’t Stop Dancing-Archie Bell & The Drells (Atlantic). This track and the next one were gifts from my friend Bill in my quest to rescue the staggering amount of those old 45s that I so foolishly gave away. As the old saying goes, if I knew then what I know now…
02 Sweet Lorene-Otis Redding (Volt). This is the obvious flip side of the immortal standard, “The Dock Of The Bay”. While this one is not the original record we used to have (the one we had was actually on Atco, probably a posthumous release), I had to include this track.
03 Gimme Some Good Soul Music-The Dramatics (Volt). Another flip side, this one from “In The Rain”. I also nodded my head to “Watcha See Is Watcha Get” when we had one of those humongous hi fi sets in the living room. It’s important to note that I still listen to my music through hi fi speakers. It’s a sentimental kinda thing… The next two tracks are more of the same.
04 Stick – up-The Honey Cone (Hot Wax)
05 Treat Her Like A Lady-Cornelius Brothers & Sister Rose (United Artists).
This is a replacement of the original 45; I played the hell out of both sides needless to say. Now I can’t say for sure if the one I used to have was in stereo, not that it mattered anyway since I was jamming my old Close ‘n Play… I took the liberty of including the audio from the commercial as in interspeak here because it is extremely significant when it comes to the next track…
06 Lies Lies Lies-Brenda & The Tabulations (Top And Bottom). I vividly remember this 45 being inside of that Close ‘n Play. That memory was revived thanks to none other than Larry when he included this track in one of his classic Funky 16 Corners Radio podcasts (I tried to find a link to said post but the list is so prolific now; I would suggest you just check out the archive). After not having seen the original 45 in over thirty years, I was fortunate to find this minty fresh copy in the field a few months ago. Good lookin’ out on jogging my rusty brain, Larry!

…Fast forward to about 1980 or 1981. After a few years of sharing my 45s with my very reluctant classmates during recess and in Music class, where incidentally I learned how to calculate the beats per minute of a song (much love to you, Mrs. Gosnell), I was given the fortunate task of providing the music for our sixth grade “prom”, if you want to call it that. Actually, we were given the day off to congregate in the gym and have refreshments and such in recognition for passing on to Junior High. The gym teacher gave me not one but TWO Califone record players, speakers attached to each. I didn’t do any scratching or beatmixing needless to say, but I have included a few of the tunes that I spun during that my very first DJ gig ever…

07 Rapper Dapper Snapper-Edwin Birdsong (Salsoul). This is one of the few 45s that was actually a favourite with the kids who would have much rather heard Rock And Roll 45s when the weather was too bad to go outside during recess.
08 Poppy Girls-Quincy Jones (Motown)


09 Don’t Burn Down The Bridge-Gladys Knight & The Pips (Buddah). This is a bonus track which I recently found on a 45 in the field. As a kid, we had the LP which once again I played ad nauseum. Most of you should instantly recognise the samples from this classic Grand Puba track.


10 Master Of Eyes (The Deepness Of Your Eyes)-Aretha Franklin (Atlantic). Another fully restored memory up next. The original was such a hit in my house…
11 The Amazing Skin Song-Hot Chocolate (Big Tree). Here’s the flip side of “You Sexy Thing”, the very first record I ever bought with my own money. Some of you may remember when I posted this one on the soon to be revamped Fufu Snax. I’ve been saying that for months, I know, but trust me… When it happens, you all will be the first to know.
12 Computer Game-Yellow Magic Orchestra (Horizon). Here’s one that I nearly forgot about until I heard it at one of the Asbury Park 45 Sessions last year. Big shouts to M. Fasis for bringing back the memories… For the record, there’s one coming up this weekend. I highly recommend checking it out if you’re close to the area…
13 Dusic-Brick (Bang). Speaking of Asbury Park, I added this track for Larry too. If you haven’t heard it yet, I hope you enjoy it…
14 Peanut Butter-Twennynine Featuring Lenny White (Elektra). HAHA! This was the JAM at that sixth grade party.
15 No Music-Skyy (Salsoul). I always liked this B side, and in all of its original (somewhat scratchy) state, it’s still just as funky.
16 Something For Nothing-MFSB (Philadelphia International). I slow down the pace a bit to play the B side of the famous “Soul Train” theme. I always loved this track as a kid, so much in fact, that I had about 2 or 3 copies in the crate at one time or another. This is one of those originals.
17 Prayin’-Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes (Source). My brother (God rest his soul) left this one for me, as well as several other tracks in this mix. Some of you older folks are probably scratching your head and saying “Damn, I haven’t heard this record in at least 25 years”!!!
18 You-The McCrarys (Portrait). Here’s another one that I posted at Fufu Snax. It’s just a great tune, and if you remember the story, it’s quite a poignant tune for me…
19 Bill, When Are You Coming Back-The Supremes (Motown). Here’s another bonus that I recently found on 45. Just like the Gladys Knight joint, I destroyed my copy of “Right On”, the LP from which this track is taken.
20 I’m So Glad I Fell For You-David Ruffin (Motown). Thanks mommy…
21 River Deep – Mountain High-The Supremes & The Four Tops (Motown)
22 Together We’ll Find The Way-Jimmie Briscoe & The Little Beavers (J City).
From the group what brought us the Slow Jam classic “My Ebony Princess”. I won’t swear to it, but I am almost positive that this record is pretty rare. I wish my copy was in better shape, but I ain’t ever getting rid of it!
23 In The Heat Of The Night-Ray Charles (Tangerine). Closing out the set is another 45 that my mom had that I almost let get away… One day I hope to find a minty copy, but again, I ain’t ever getting rid of this one!

And there you have it. This brings to a close the story of how I got to this point, and opens up a whole new batch of stories that are soon to come. With that said,

Please download and enjoy Dateline 1973: The Saga Continues, 70 MB

Here is the link to the mp3 file
Here is the link to the zip file

I want to dedicate this mix to Meggan, who I found out just recently is probably one of my more dedicated fans (she’s a member of the College Square team)… I had the pleasure of meeting her a few weeks back when Leslie and I went to see the Indigo Girls. Now I say dedicated because she told me that she enjoys my mixes so much that she takes the time to download them with a dialup connection! Now that’s dedication… Thank you for all of your kind words and for your support. Be sure to holla once in a while, we’d love to hear from you…

I hope to be back here sooner than later with more tasty goodness. I’ll do my best. In the meantime, real life is calling once again so everyone have a good weekend and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

15 thoughts on “Dateline 1973: The Saga Continues…

  1. awesome mix.
    I love the concept of taking records that have personal memories from way back and putting them out there.

    My first 45 that split my wig was Superstitious. I remember going across the street in 72 or 73 and having Wattie’s older sis bust out the jams on a little portable.

    I had to wait a few years to have my own copy, but alas, now I do.

    Cheers,
    RB

  2. Great theme Vince 73 was the year I got my first singles (Tiger Feet – Mud, Devil Gate Drive – Suzi Quatro) – had to wait another 6 years for my own player – a cast off from mm and dad.

    Having said that 1977 is my all time fave year see here for more info.

    PS love that Dusic-Brick cut and have you read this Sound Design. – David Attwood be right up your groovy street

  3. @ cratedigger: Hey! Long time no talk. I’ll email you soon 🙂

    @ Planet Mondo: The book looks cool; I’ll have to hunt down a copy. I just subscribed to Stereophile magazine this summer also… More high end stuff to look at that I can’t afford 🙂

  4. What an expertly crafted mix. Brought back some serious memories indeed. I’ve never heard the flip of the “Soul Train” theme before. That one just floored me. That would definitely be a killin’ sample for something. I’ve GOT to track down a copy.

    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave…

  5. Soul Chef,

    Man I do remember those “Close and Play” TV ads! (For sure they aired during Wonderama, hosted by Bob McAllister, didn’t they?)

    I never ended up getting a Close and Play but I did have a record player that was made out of bright red plastic and was probably also a benchmark in children’s high-fidelity gear.

    I have to admit that I was never really an avaid 45 collector, but I do remember my first 45: Stevie Wonder, Sir Duke. I guess the fascination began right there, need I say more?

  6. I still remember my first radiocassete player back in “1978. Disco was about to end and i discover rock. Breakfast in America” by Supertramp, Dire Straits “1st” and “The Wall” by Pink Floyd. And my musical journey begins.. it was 1983 and thought that ACDC was the best act around (still love them). I feel great that i enjoy every genre from Madonna to REM. ..and the last years i am exploring the golden decades : 60’s and 70’s… Thanks God that : i feel gooooooooooood as James shouts!!!!

    Thanks for the memories brother! Once again!!

  7. Nice one Vincent, I love the soundtrack of my life theme.My first player was a Decca Radiogram that took up half of the room!! It was a combined radio and record player that played 78’s 45’s and 33’s.You could stack about 10 singles on the spindle at once and they would drop down and play on top of each other.Dont think it did the vinyl much good though!
    Thanks for a fantastic mix will email you soon.
    Cheers Tony.

  8. Awesome stuff dude. Edwin Birdsong is new to me, so I’m going searching for more later.

    (whispering) check the name on the Honey Cone song though… Stick up…

  9. Pingback: Those were the days (including Misspent Childhood) « Fufu Stew

Leave a Reply

