No More Malnutrition… (including Fufu Stew Meets The Jazz Syndicate)

Hello, kiddies.

How’s about another action packed week full of real life. I’m getting kinda tired of saying that week after week, but as the studies continue, I find myself getting more and more consumed by getting an education. Now that is NOT a bad thing. The bad thing here is that my decks are getting dusty. BOOOOOO 😦 I sure hope to rectify that real soon; let’s see how the midterm examinations go this week.

Now with regards to what I said last time about pulling up stakes, that will happen at some point, maybe sooner than later. A crash course in Front Page and a little HTML wizardry should hopefully go a long way in the launch of the new and improved Fufu Stew. I won’t get my hopes up just yet, but I am working on it as best I can. I mean, since my my major is Information Systems, I should learn this stuff, you know?

It’s been too long so enough of the small talk already, let’s get cookin’…

This time around I had to go to the reserve tank, but I’m sure you kids won’t mind, especially those of you just tuning in. Some of you may remember back in April when I had the privilege of doing a guest mix for Tony C’s Melting Pot which ran on the now defunct Jazz Syndicate Radio website. It was a rather neat experience to hear the stream go out live, albeit my internet connection was acting kind funky that day. Long and short is that it’s just a no-nonsense blend of good flavours that’s sure to please. In any event, I saved a copy of the complete show for an occasion such as this one so in case you missed the broadcast, or if you just want to relive the memories once again, here is

Fufu Stew Meets The Jazz Syndicate (originally broadcast 1 April 2008)

forgive me for I have no art this time…

Tony starts the show with…

M&M’s-Black Heat (Atlantic)
What Time It Is-General Crook (Down To Earth)
Everything’s Gonna Be Alright-Robert Moore (Saadia)
We Need Love-JR Bailey (Virgo)
Sweet Meat-Zip Codes (Better)
Ya Ya-Frank Motley

…and then I come in

Braodway Freeze-Harvey Scales & The 7 Sounds (Magic Touch)
Hey Ruby, Shut Your Mouth-Ruby & The Party Gang (Law-Ton)
Crabcakes-Gunga Din (Valise)
Pickin’ Cotton-Johnny Talbot (Jasman)
Funky Chicken Stew-Dayton Sidewinders (Funkadelphia reissue)
Pretty Lil’ Mama-Soul Crusaders (More Soul)
Shakey Jakes-The Strange Brothers Show (Sire)
James Brown’s Boogaloo-James Brown (Smash)
Chittlins Pt. 1-Southside Revue (Mellow)
Hamhocks And Red Beans Pt. 1-Chuck Womack (ReJoint)
Funkadelic Sound-Little Beaver (Cat)
Take Five-Willie Mitchell (Hi)
Soul Foo Yong-Willie Bobo And The Bo-Gents (Sussex)
Creative Musicians-Lyman Woodward Organization (Perfect Toy CD track)
Liberation Conversation-Marlena Shaw (Cadet)
Give It Up-Lee Dorsey (Amy)
Nobody But You Babe-Clarence Reid (Alston)
Sock It To ‘Em Soul Brother-Bill Moss (Capsoul)
The Man Is Lonely-Lou Courtney (Riverside)
Squeeze Me Pts 1&2-The Dynamic 7 (Sound Stage 7)
Stop Me-Benny Johnson (Today)
Soul Charge Pt. 2-The Soul Chargers (American)
Am I Grooving You-Freddie Scott (Shout)
Take Inventory-Isley Brothers (T Neck)
Doin What Comes Naturally1-Charles Wright (Dunhill)

Tony closes the show with…

Memphis Soul Stew (Live at the Fillmore)-King Curtis (Atco)
Chicken Curry-El Chicles (Carabine)
Somebody Stole My Cookie-The Phillips Bros (We The People)
Dont Fight It-Billy Lee Riley (Mojo)
Dirty Old Man-Martha Turner (Royal American)

Please download and enjoy Fufu Stew Meets The Jazz Syndicate.

Here is the link for the complete show, an mp3 file, 110 MB
Here is the link for my set, a zip file, 67 MB

Thanks large for hosting the program, Tony. I am looking forward to your return to the kitchen 🙂 and now for the closing commentary which consists of more shoutouts, most notably the long awaited return of Jackie Teeehorn and Black Belt Jones!!! Check out The Two Team for their latest soundtrack, The TreeBelt Syndicate. Kinda appropriate, huh? 🙂 Also, check out Eclectic Grooves for a rather heavy dose of psychedelic soul with this podcast here… this one’s a monster! Good work, gentlemen! And last, but definitely not least, head over to Rhythms In Black Satin for a very special podcast dedicated to the upcoming election. For those of you in the US, I urge you to PLEASE GET OUT AND VOTE!!! The fate of this country is in your hands… I don’t want to start any political debates here, “but I know that a change is gonna come…”* that’s all I’ll say.

Time to get the books opened for now, but I hope to be back in the seat real soon. In the meantime, have a good week and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

*the quote of course come from the late great Sam Cooke

A big thank you to Shindiggit! and My Jazz World

2 thoughts on “No More Malnutrition… (including Fufu Stew Meets The Jazz Syndicate)

  1. Hello! Nice site you have here. You left a message on mine about putting my blog in your blogroll. I will do the same if you want to put mine up! Just let me know.

    peace
    Ronnie
    PsychedelicLion.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

