Happy Birthday!

***UPDATE*** The revised version is now being served. Read on, and welcome one and all from t&jam

the header is temporary by the way…

you thought I was gonna say Happy New Year, didn’t you…

Hello, kiddies.

Time once again to reflect on another year. The hype of Christmas is over. Sandy Claws did treat me very well I must admit. All thanks and praises to the mighty Dusty Groove for the four packages I got over the past month or so. Bessie’s replacement is slowly coming along. I think that I may have souped it up a bit too much though. I also managed to get through the first part of my quest to earn a college degree. My GPA is quite astonishing to me, but I am glad that I got through it unscathed.

When the time came to finally put together this my last/first post of the year/new year, I knew exactly what I wanted to say. Now as the landscape changes yet again, I am at a loss for words. I do recall thinking about what direction to take in the next phase of this little journey, and I came up with this little analogy: just like a two year old kid who is willing to get into anything that he or she can get their little hands on, I will be that little toddler when it comes to making batches of Fufu Stew, getting into a lot more of everything that I can get my little hands on. You’ll see as the next couple of weeks progress. I am going to try and do this all before the next quarter begins so wish me luck.

While deep in thought, I thought of how it used to be when I would sprawl out in the middle of the living room floor as a teenager with my trusty boom box and a fresh pack of blank tapes. Funny how time and a little luck can change things. Like I’ve said all along, I would be doing this for myself, but I still had this little fantasy to share these personal curios with an audience who was willing to take the risk and listen. Well, some 200,000 hits later, it looks as if my fantasy is clearly a reality. Again, I thank all of you for your support for the past two years and I promise not to disappoint as the journey continues. Besides, my truck is dying for some new choons 🙂

With all that out of the way, here’s another one of those fantasies come to life… another impromptu exercise made on the fly that I just know you all are gonna dig. In it are the presents I got from Sandy Claws and some other goodies that I’ve scored through various means over the past couple of years.

hbgraphic

01 Down In The Basement-King Coleman
02 Different Strokes For Different Folks-Monk Higgins
03 Let The Groove Move You-Gus ‘The Groove’ Lewis
03 I’ll Take Those Skinny Legs-Syl Johnson
04 Look What Love Can Make You Do-The Fantastic Johnny C
05 Baby I Love You-Howard Tate
06 Ode To Billie Joe-Ray Bryant
07 And Get Away-The Esquires
08 If This Is Love-The Precisions
09 Brothers and Sisters-The Soul Lifters
10 Ungena Za Ulimwengu (Unite The World)-The Temptations
11 You’re Right, Ray Charles-Joe Tex
12 (Play Me) A Cornbread Song-Joe Haywood
13 Soul Hootenanny Pt. 2-Gene Chandler
14 Fun & Funk Pt. 2-The Fantastic Epics
15 Pass It On Pt. 2-Pieces Of Peace
16 Popcorn Baby-Freddie/Henchi
17 Goo Goo Barabajagal-Donovan
18 Fun & Funk Pt. 3-The Fantastic Epics
19 Get Back-The Herculoids
20 Put Your Weight on It-The Fillmore Street Soul Rebellion
21 Toe Jam-The Pazant Brothers
22 Burnin Coal-Les McCann
23 Open Our Eyes-Funkadelic

Please download and enjoy Happy Birthday! 64 MB

Here’s the link to the mp3 file
Here’s the link to the zip file

and now for the closing commentary…

While I know that most of you will probably be reading this after the fact, all I can say is that I want to wish you all the very best for Twentyodd Nine. I have at least three potential digging sessions coming up this month (enough said there). I really don’t get into new years resolutions, but one thing I do know is that I resolve to have a better 2009 than 2008. Pretty self explanatory as far as I’m concerned. With that said, let’s get this party started! Everyone have a happy new year! I’ll be back with another power packed installment real soon so until then, have fun(k) and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

Thank you Funky 16 Corners, Heavy Weight Crates, Neopolitan Funk, Office Naps and Red Kelly

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

  1. Well, it’s here and it starts with a great gift of music so here’s saying thank you for the tunes, for the groovy last 365, and may the worst day of your new year be better than the best day of the old one.

  2. hi Vince, first of all ofcourse all the best for the new year to you & those close to you!!!
    Second: WOAW!! a version of Ode To Billie Joe I hadn’t come across before! You started my new year in a GOOD way, my friend [:-)
    be seeing you,
    peace, E-mile

Leave a Reply

