Souled On Love… a guest mix for Souled On Music

Hello, kiddies.

Well, it’s no secret that another Valentine’s Day is upon us. Suffice it to say, I’d be putting my foot in my mouth by saying that this used to be one of my least favourite holidays, but now that I am happily married… well you know.

In any event, for the occasion, your ever lovin’ chef makes another guest appearance at Souled On Music to take part in the Scholar’s Valentine’s Day spectacular known as the Love Lockdown.

For my contribution, I chose a handful of 45s (no surprise there) “…with songs about love as opposed to the traditional love song”, which I simply call

souled-on-love-cover-art_sml

01 I Want To Do Everything For You-Joe Tex (Dial)
02 Like An Open Door-The Fuzz (Calla)
03 Piece Of My Heart-Erma Franklin (Shout)
04 I Can’t Live Without You-The Soul Brothers Six (Atlantic)
05 Nothing From Nothing Leaves Nothing-Etta James (Cadet)*
06 Eight Men Four Women-O.V. Wright (Back Beat)
07 It’s Better Not To Know-The Royalettes (MGM)
08 Oh Baby Don’t You Weep Pts 1&2-James Brown (King)*
09 Because Of Love-The Sandpebbles (Calla)
10 Seems Like I Gotta Do Wrong-The Whispers (Soul Clock)
11 It’s I Who Love You (Not Him Anymore)-Bobby Byrd (King)
12 Why Don’t You Lead Me To Love-Stevie Wonder (Tamla)
13 Handle With Care-King Floyd (Chimneyville)
14 Spellbinder-The Rhythm Rebellion (Tangerine)
15 Mind Body And Soul-The Flaming Ember (Hot Wax)
16 Where There’s A Will Theres A Way-Brenda & The Tabulations (Top And Bottom)
17 Let Me Keep On Walking-Prophecy (All Platinum)*
18 Remember The Rain-The Vibrations (Okeh)*
19 I Am Your Man-Bobby Taylor & The Vancouvers (Gordy)*
20 I Can’t Do Enough-The Dells (Cadet)
21 Put Our Love Together-Arthur Conley (Atco)
22 I Don’t Wanna Live Without Your Love-The Fantastic Four (Ric Tic)*
23 I Found A Love Part 2-Wilson Pickett (Atlantic)*

Please visit Souled On Music for the download links, as well as the other contributions from some of the blogisphere’s finest…

But wait, there’s more. Be sure to also stop by and see my friend and esteemed colleague TGrundy who has also seen fit to spread good Valentine’s Day vibes for one and all. Click on the image below to check out

ch09_trans

…and as the old saying goes, “If you can’t be with the one you love, love the one you’re with”. More to come real soon but as always, have fun(k) and please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

6 thoughts on “Souled On Love… a guest mix for Souled On Music

  1. That Etta James song is wonderful… do you know if it appeared on any of her albums? Thanks too for introducing me to the Souled on Music blog!

Leave a Reply

