My Favourite Fufu Part One (including a load of snax and a new place to play

Hello, kiddies.

Before I go any further, I do have a couple of surprises. At long last, there are some new Fufu Snax!!! Head on over and help yourself…

In addition, I am trying something new and a little out of the ordinary in some cases. I now occupy another small space in the blogisphere which I call Fufu Stew Too. It’s still a little green, but feel free to drop by and have a look round.

Well, another week of algebra is over and I still have a good average. I am so strapped for time but I wanted to drop by and say howdy. In addition, I wanted to give  a shoutout to my man the Scholar for a job well done on the Valentine’s day special. If you didn’t get the opportunity to check out my contribution, there’s no time like the present.

It was kinda ironic that I got that invite, because I actually had Souled On Music on my brain just a few days earlier. I had been feasting on some old recipes and found one of my all time favourites. For the benefit of those of you who are new to the Fufu Stew experience, here’s another chance to check out one of the first guest posts that I did back in August of 2007. I added a little spice and a couple extra ingredients for those of you who were there the first time around. With that said, here’s the first installment of My Favourite Fufu…

Fufu Stew’s Funkiest 45s in F Reheated (Originally posted at Souled On Music 10 August 2007). Click the link for most of the label scans, props, etc.

fsfff

Intro: Doin’ It To Death excerpt-The JBs (People)
01 Here Comes The Judge-Pigmeat Markham (Chess)
02 Charge-The Mod Squad (Tangerine)
03 Tuck’s Theme-Bill Deal & The Rhondells (Heritage)
04 Vacuum Cleaner-The Isley Brothers (T Neck)
05 Working My Way Back (Into A Funky Thing)- The Unifics (Fountain)
06 Freedom Blues-Little Richard (Reprise)
07 There’s A DJ In Your Town-Samson & Delilah (Indigo)
08 TCB Or TYA-Bobby Patterson (Jetstream)
09 Do It To Me One More Time-Joey Gilmore (Phil LA Of Soul)
10 Golly Zonk, It’s Scat Man-Scat Man Crothers (Hanna Barbera)
11 Sock It To ‘Em, J.B. Pt. 1-Rex Garvin & the Mighty Cravers (Like)
12 Do The African Twist Pt. 1&2-The Mad Men (Gamble)
Intermission: The Beat Goes On Phase 2&3-Vanilla Fudge (Atco)
13 Sock It To Em Soul Brother-Bill Moss (Loren)
14 Sophisticated Funk-John Roberts (Duke)
15 Humpin’ Thumpin’ And Bumpin’-Andre Williams (Checker)
16 Seeds Of Life-Harlem River Drive (Roulette)
17 We Are Neighbours-The Chi-Lites (Brunswick)
18 Till I Get My Share-Clarence Reid (Alston)
19 Sad Feeling-Bobby Bland (Duke)
20 Mr. Penguin Pts. 1&2-Lunar Funk (Bell)
21 You’re Losing Me-Ann Sexton (Seventy Seven)
22 Blow Your Whistle-TheSoul Searchers (Sussex)
23 The Drunk-James Brown (Bethlehem)
24 Soul For Sale-Ace Cannon (Hi)
25 Yes-Suh’-Charlie Earland’s Erector Set (Eldorado)
Exitus: The Beat Goes On Phase 4-Vanilla Fudge (Atco)

Please download and enjoy Fufu Stew’s Funkiest 45s in F Reheated, a zip file, 70 MB

No real closing commentary this time around. I found a couple more that I will reheat later on. With a little luck I should have a brand spanking new 45 rpm exercise real soon, but I hope that this heaping helping of dusty singles will get you through. I do have term papers and finals coming up over the next three weeks, so I’ll be burying my nose in the books once more. Almost done with the work, then the fun will resume.Thanks one and all for bearing with me during my time of need. I haven’t studied this hard since I was in Middle school, but in the end, it will all be worth it. Have fun(k) and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

P.S. Please show your love to Daptone Records…

5 thoughts on “My Favourite Fufu Part One (including a load of snax and a new place to play

  1. Oh man! I haven’t seen or heard any Scat Man Crothers in ages. My Mum and Dad used to watch every entertainment show on TV so I grew up with Scat Man, Eubie Blake, and many more of these “old-timers”.

  2. Im amazed at your 45 compilation. I love every one I’ve heard so far. I just wish I had found you sooner. Amazing stuff!! Thanks Soul Chef

Leave a Reply

