Come and get it… Fufu Stew No. 12

Hello, kiddies.

Another term comes to a close. I didn’t fare as well as I had planned in the end, but I think that’s because I really have to get away from here.

You all know how I just love the summertime… UGH! Heat, humidity and headaches. Oh well, I’ll get through this one just like every other.

Saturday marks our first wedding anniversary, so Leslie and I are returning to our summer place for ten more days of rest, relaxation and records… I hope that this trip proves as fruitful as the last.

The time comes to give up another one of those freeform exercises. This one was inspired by taking those visits around the land of blog and having my mind blown. It was just as exhilarating an experience as when I made that tape from the radio, which I finally found out just about all of the song titles and artists. For the past month, I’ve been totally immersed in anything Psychedelia. Fuzz… Sunshine… Freakout!!! There was a time so long ago. I’m sure you’ve all been there at least once. Well for me, it was 1986. MTV was playing the first of many marathons of Monkees episodes. I found Sgt. Pepper for the first time… and botanicals… I look back on it all and don’t regret a single minute. Yeah, young and stupid I was. I guess saying if I knew then what I know now isn’t really necessary. Now that I’ve put my heart on my sleeve again, let’s get to the food… brain food, as the image below may suggest.

FS12graphic_b_sml

…God bless you, Ken.

01 Introspeak (and subsequent thoughts)* by Timothy Leary

02 Magic Key-Rare Earth

03 The Flying Teapot-Gong

04 No Escape-The Seeds* (just found out that Sky Saxon is no longer with us. Rest in peace…)

05 Open Up Your Mind-The Nuchez

06 Hashish-Indian Puddin And Pipe

07 Get High-Gran Am

08 Smokestack Lightning-Howlin’ Wolf

09 2000 Light Years From Home-The Rolling Stones

10 War Of Distortion-The Leaves

11 Intermission…

12 A Girl Named Sandoz-Eric Burdon &The Animals

13 (We Ain’t Got) Nothin’ Yet-The Blues Magoos

14 Fifty Two Per Cent-Max Frost And The Troopers

15 Herbert Harper’s Free Press News-Muddy Waters

16 Nightmare Of Percussion-Strawberry Alarm Clock

17 Termination-Iron Butterfly

18 Sunday Morning-Five Day Week Straw People*

19 You Can’t Ever Come Down-Joe Byrd And The Field Hippies

20 Season Of The Witch-Brian Auger & Julie Driscoll

21 Star Collector-The Monkees

22 Nice To See You-The Left Banke

Please download and enjoy Fufu Stew No. 12.

here is the link to the zip file, complete with three different covers, 76 MB

Here are the mp3 links. each link has a different cover. Which one will you choose… (click on any of the images)

FS12graphic_a FS12graphic_b FS12graphic_c

Thank you to Huddinge Hill, Phrockblog and to my friends and esteemed colleagues Nikos and Ronnie… I hope you dig it as much as I did.

…and now for the closing commentary, which simply put, says that when I come home, I hope to post again. Also, the mighty Tony C. returns once again with another batch of heat. This one promises to be extra special so be sure to stand by, especially Lily, Heavy Soul Brutha and W… hint, hint… 🙂

My only thought for the 4th of July is this: One world, independent and free… Until the next time we meet, have fun(k), enjoy the upcoming weekend and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

keep on reading… there’s another new mix for you.

7 thoughts on “Come and get it… Fufu Stew No. 12

  1. just the way it should be – nice mp3’s in a zip-file – free 4 every 1 – i love u 4 that thanx x suggestions: vernon garrett, herman hitson, wilson pickett, don covay, gene anderson etc.

  2. Hey great mix. Thanks. I was wondering if the Howlin’ Wolf song was named wrong. I looked up Smokestack Lightning and it sounds different. If it’s named wrong could you possibly find out which song it is. Its an amazing track. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

