Getting ready for phase two (including Breakfast In Bed – Reupped)

Hello, kiddies.

It’s nice to know that you all like the new look, judging from the comments on the last post. Frankly, I don’t like it all that much, but just the same, this will probably be the way things will look from now on. Oh, except the header… watch the colours change depending on my mood each time I drop in.

I have lotsa news (and mixes) to lay on you. Before  I begin, let me state for the record that I didn’t forget about the recent milestones that have taken place over the last week or so.

First and foremost, I will shed a tear for the mighty Les Paul…

I also want to send a shoutout to the good folks who run mine and Leslie’s favourite spots in Rehoboth, Superkind and Sunshine Octopus. Whenever you’re in town, be sure to look ‘em up for all your hippie type needs… 🙂 There’s a special mix up over at Fufu Stew Too related to such things. Check it out! Don’t worry, I have a reminder at the end of this post so please read on.

Segue into… Next, what about Woodstock… Some 40 years later, but it kinda feels like yesterday. I did fail to do some type of tribute for the occasion, I know. Damn near everybody else did, so I figured what could I really do that hasn’t already been done. Well, in looking at the statistics, I noticed a lot of you were directed to a post I did last summer. Then I notice that I killed the link. Dumb move! Let me rectify that now.

BINBgraphic_500

Breakfast In Bed… what service! (originally posted 12 July 2007)

01 Introspeak by Wavy Gravy. Remember, there really is a little bit of soulful heaven in this disaster area of day to day living as you are about to see.
Okay, here it comes… MESS CALL!
02 Wack Wack-Young Holt Trio (Brunswick).
03 Ain’t That Peculiar-Ramsey Lewis (Cadet).
04 He’s Got Your Love-Isley Brothers (T Neck).
05 Hey Mama-Willie West (Deesu)
06 Baby Do The Philly Dog-Olympics (Mirwood)
07 Eye To Eye-Titus Turner (Okeh)
08 Got To Find A Way-Harold Burrage (M-pac!)
09 I’ve Been Loving You Too Long-Cindy Scott (Veep)
10 Everybody Walking Together-Prophecy (All Platinum).
11 It’s A Groovy World-The Unifics (Kapp).
12 Keep On Keeping On-Vibrations (Okeh).
13 I Had A Dream-The Pips (Everlast).
14 Switch It On-Cliff Nobles & Co. (Phil L.A. Of Soul)
15 Mama Told Me Not To Come-Wilson Pickett (Atlantic)
16 Come To Me-Barbara Mason (Arctic)
17 Tip On In Pt. 1-Slim Harpo (Excello)
18 Polk Salad Annie-Tony Joe White (Monument).
19 That Driving Beat-Willie Mitchell (Hi).
20 If You Gotta Make A Fool Of Somebody-James Ray (Caprice).
21 Don’t You Miss Me A Little Bit Baby-Jimmy Ruffin (Soul).
22 Masquerade-Don Varner (South Camp).
23 Lonely In A Crowd-The Superlatives (Westbound).
24 What’s The Use Of Me Trying-Tan Geers (Okeh).
25 Every Beat Of My Heart-The Du-ettes (Mar-V-Lus)
26 In The Pocket-Darrell Banks (Revilot)
27 Something You Got-Alvin Robinson (Tiger).
28 Nothing But Soul-Jr. Walker & The All Stars (Soul).

Please download and enjoy Breakfast In Bed, 67 MB. Again, thanks Rob for letting me have at that box. Nothin’ but love my friend.

and now for the closing commentary…

Notice that there’s lotsa *NEW* icons are now over in the even longer blogroll? I’ve been lacking in the maintenance of it, but that will also be rectified real soon. I’m still getting regular visits from the “health department”, so I have to pick and choose my spots. The floors have to be “white glove clean”, and my equipment must be in good working order before I feel comfortable enough to proceed, so thanks to all of you who continue to be so patient while I get my shit together. The target date for completion of the deconstruction will hopefully be sometime before October. That is indeed tentative, but I will still be cooking away from time to time. I just added two classic mixes over on the Second Helpings page.

In addition, I am still in the middle of a very personal research paper this term. A huge project to say the very least, but if I get an A on it, I will consider it a labour of love.

Don’t forget that on the 27th, I will be making a rare live appearance at the Windup Space. If you’re close to Baltimore, please drop by and say hello. Besides, you can’t beat the cover charge… This post here has all the particulars. I’m gathering up my hottest of white hot 45s for this special occasion, so I can assure you that it will be a stone gass, kiddies!

For now, it’s back to the books. Until the next time we meet, have fun(k) and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

Don’t forget to check out my newest over at Fufu Stew Too. Click on the image below…

SSgraphic(1)_sml

3 thoughts on “Getting ready for phase two (including Breakfast In Bed – Reupped)

  1. Hi Vincent! I just stopped by your new site and let me tell ya, it looks terrific! Good job man. I will be listening to your new mix, a lot of cool stuff in there! Love the Willie Mitchell track. I will have to do the swithc to WordPress eventually…

  2. Hey man I got a link to an article that you might find an interesting read. As soon as I read it I thought about your blog and that awesome mixtape that’s been attached to your hip for 20 years. Send me your email address now that you have mine.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

