I put the “grinch” gear away (including AntiDivas No. 11 and much more)

Hello, kiddies.

Here’s this year’s tree, lovingly trimmed by me and my beloved Leslie. Not a bad job, huh? We’re still trying to keep the tinsel out of our cats’ reach though…

Well, here we are at the end of another year here in the Fufu Stew kitchen. If I told you it was an easy year, with exhausting studies and other assorted mayhem at every turn, I would certainly be telling a lie. All things considered, I’ve truly been blessed. Now that I can breathe for a couple of weeks, I’m gonna crack open a beer and

I’ll keep the introduction short and sweet, but I do want to give a huge ear splitting shoutout to Ava and all the readers of jemsite.com for recommending that this little ol’ blog on its list of recommended sites. I placed the medal over in the sidebar for all to see and click if you so desire. Thanks to all of you for your support the past few months. My “acceptance speech” is forthcoming…

Now, to the crux of the post…

I told some of my friends that I was going to be putting together a brand new AntiDivas collection to close out the year. For those of you who have been collecting them, you know how special they are to me. Well, without further ado, here is the eleventh installment.

01 Baby, Do That Thing-Honey & The Bees

02 Soul Sister Annie-Melanie

03 It Ain’t What You Do It’s How You Do It-Laura Lee

04 Light My Fire-Spanky Wilson

05 You Ole Boo Boo You-Ruby Andrews

06 On A Back Street-Carolyn Franklin

07 Take Me in Your Arms (And Love Me)-Lulu

08 For What It’s Worth-Miriam Makeba

09 Take Him (You Can Have My Man)-Jean Knight

11 Gotta Find A Brand New Lover Pt. 1-The Sweet Inspirations

12 Gotta Find A Brand New Lover Pt. 2-The Sweet Inspirations

13 I Walk On Guilded Splinters-Cher

14 You Stay On My Mind-Lena Mone’

15 Trouble-Foxy

16 Silly Silly Fool-Dusty Springfield

17 I Don’t Want No Mama’s Boy-Erma Franklin

18 Honey Coated Loving-Betty And Angel

19 What Do You See In Her-Inell Young

20 Danger! (Playboy at Work)-Mary Davis

21 I’ve Got The Next Dance-Denice Williams

22 Ooh Yeah-Betty Davis

23 There’s Music In The Air-Letta Mbulu

24 My Way-Aretha Franklin

25 I Am Woman-Betty Wright

Please download and enjoy AntiDivas No. 11, 92 MB.

Big thanks to Super Soul Sisters and What… Cat 8 Your Tongue for the noble assist. Much respect to both of you. Please visit and support these fine sites if such is your bag.

Now if 45s are still your bag (and I am equally as sorry that I’ve been lacking in the 45 rpm exercises), here’s a special Christmas treat from the Four Brothers Beats team. I’ve been waiting for this day for months. Finally, the transcontinental clocks are all synchronised. I joined forces with our resident DJ and brother in arms, the mighty LP2, who most of you should remember as being not only one of the finalists from the Damn! contest (more on that later), but also the winner of last year’s 4BB logo contest. Together we came up with a nice little 45 rpm exercise where I supplied the vinyl, and the good brother put his magic touch upon it. This is the first of what I hope will be many collaborations.

Please download and enjoy 4BB Breaks Vol. 1by dropping in at the 4BB compound.

But before you do that, I’d like to say that the Damn! Contest was a smash success. It was a knock down drag out remix fest. Big congratulations to Gorque the undisputed winner… For his hard work, he got a real nice prize package… I myself am deeply jealous. The runner up didn’t do too bad either. Great work was done by all the contestants. As an extra special treat, I am pleased to be able to bring you the official Damn! remix EP. The tracklisting is as follows:

01-Headstone (Original Mix)

02-Get Your Grown Man On (Original Mix)

03-Headstone (Gorque’s Champion Remix)

04-Headstone (LP2 Remix)

05-Get Your Grown Man On (Gorque Remix)

06-Get Your Grown Man On (C.H. Remix)

07-Get Your Grown Man On (Saft Sthlm Remix)

08-Get Your Grown Man On (Mofo Trio Remix)

If you haven’t already picked this one up from 4BB, then please download and enjoy the Damn! Remix EP, courtesy of the good folks at Pope/Universal, and of course, Damn! Much respect. The original versions of “Get Your Grown Man On” and “Headstone” are available on the latest Damn! CD, “Let’s Zoom In”. Be sure to snag a copy from Dusty Groove America.

Well, I’m outta here. I’ve got some gifts to open and some food to eat, not to mention, some music to play. I’m going to try with all my might to return on New Years’ Day to kick off another year of mouth-watering freeform goodness. I want to thank those of you who continue to be in my corner as I press on. I know I don’t have the greatest blog out there, but I try my best to do what I love, and that alone is reason enough to soldier on. I hope that you all have a wonderful holiday season, and remember, whatever you do, be sure to do it good. Until next year, have fun(k) and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

5 thoughts on “I put the “grinch” gear away (including AntiDivas No. 11 and much more)

  1. hi Vince,
    may joy, wonderous crate-diggin and good health be be with you & those close to you
    all around 2010! You know you put marvellous out (t)here, which is enjoyed by the likes of me & many more… So, remember to be safe and be well, all the best,

  2. Nice blog you’ve got going. Some excellent mixes. I’ve got my work cut out for me in grabbing and listening to a bunch of them. But looks like it’ll be worth.

    Cheers for 2010,
    Mr. Suave

  3. Hey Vincent,
    Fantastic collection of 45’s again!! Still can’t get the Mediafire to work though.
    Is’nt that the same Christmas tree picture you posted up last year? l.o.l
    A very Happy New Year,

  4. I am enjoying this site as always and the good grooves you’re putting down. Amazing set. If my back hadn’t gone out on me, I’d be dancing right this minute. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s