…but it ain’t no crime

Hello, kiddies.

Another term begins today. I am kinda sad, because I didn’t get to do nearly everything I wanted to during the respite last week. As luck would have it, I got my annual cold… I’m almost over it now, at the expense of wasting away the whole week.

Some of you may be wondering what happened to the Baywords platform… maybe not. Frankly, I was (almost) surprised. I wanted to do the last mix as my inaugural post there, but when I went to compose it, I got nothing but a white screen. Oh well, no sense in bellyaching about it now. What it boils down to is this: why fix what ain’t broke… in simpler terms, the original Fufu Stew will carry on as it is right now. I may try to streamline it a bit if time permits but for now, the show will go on.

And speaking of the show going on, I have another batch of 45’s on tap. The theme can be easily determined by checking out the graphic below.

01 A Natural Man-Lou Rawls (MGM)

02 Sunshine Superman-Willie Bobo (Verve)

03 Poppin’ Popcorn-Dave “Baby” Cortez (Okeh)

04 Arrest Me-Jamo Thomas (Thomas)

05 Scramble-Billy Stewart (Chess)

06 Secret Love-Billy Stewart (Chess)

07 I Can’t Stop-The Notations (Twinight)

08 I Want Her Love-Jimmy Ruffin (Soul)

09 Mama’s Got A Good Thing-Laura Lee (Chess)

10 Don’t See Speak Hear No Evil-The Platters (Musicor)

11 Restless-Willie Mitchell (Hi)

12 Funky Broadway-Jackie Wilson & Count Basie (Brunswick)

13 My Man A Sweet Man-Millie Jackson (Spring)

14 Plum Outta Sight-Maxine Brown (Epic)

15 That Girl-Smokey Robinson &The Miracles (Tamla)

16 Love Land-Watts 103rd St. Rhythm Band (Warner Bros.)

17 Don’t Leave Me-Al Green (Bell)

18 Every Beat Of My Heart-The Du-Ettes (Mar V Lus)

19 I’ve Got A Secret-The Sharpees (One Der Ful)

20 Much Too Much-Bobby Rush (Checker)

21 Twenty Five Miles-Edwin Starr (Gordy)

22 Get It (Come On And Get It)-Jay Dee Bryant (Enjoy)

23 Am I Grooving You-Freddie Scott (Shout)

24 I’ve Got The Groove-The O’Jays (Neptune)

25 Back Street-Instrumental (Ric Tic)

26 Should I Tell Her-The Velvelettes (VIP)

27 Contract Of Love-Oscar Weathers (Top And Bottom)

28 You Don’t Love Me-The Five Stairsteps (Windy C)

So please download and enjoy …but it ain’t no crime, 106 MB, or check out the stream at Mixcloud. I will add some more stuff there at some point soon; mainly old stuff from way back when and a few exclusives.

In other related news, my Four Brothers Beats colleagues have returned after an extended hiatus to promote the Herman Eberitzsch III Project. Family Groove Records have unearthed another long lost classic, unheard by the masses. I purchased a copy of this amazing LP last week, and I must recommend it to each and every one of you, especially if you are a fan of Brian Auger’s Oblivion Express or the Lyman Woodward Organisation. Head on over to 4BB Weekly for more information and an exclusive preview sampler. Thanks to the Family Groove team for making it possible.

Starla Records have also released a new 45. The Privates Hammond Orchestra’s second release is now available for a limited time. I am waiting with baited breath for my copy to hit the mailbox. As always, it should be available as an mp3 download real soon at all the usual places. Visit Starla Records’ blog for a preview.

…and last but certainly not least, the NEW SHARON JONES record comes out tomorrow!!! You know where to go.

Thanks as always for your patience and your continued support. Time to get back to the books now, but with a little luck, I’ll get to cook up another batch, preferably sooner than later. Until then, have fun(k) and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

5 thoughts on “…but it ain’t no crime

  1. Great blog! I will follow this regularly from now on and started Dling the last compilation right away. So thanks in advance 🙂

Leave a Reply

