There still ain’t no cure (including Block Party parts 1&2)

Hello, kiddies.

Any thoughts on the new look? I think it’s too busy, but for now it is what it us until I get around to changing it up again.

Now, am I dreading or getting ready for the apparent arrival of summer… with some of the hot days we’ve had here in recent weeks, it looks like it has already come. I am on the fence about it really; summer does mean trips to Delaware and steamed crabs. It also means a brutal workload, but that’s to be expected. At least next term will be my last before I earn my associate’s degree. Let’s see where it all takes me. In any event, I was lucky enough to score a really fruitful gig a couple of weeks ago. My wife volunteered my services to do another rare live appearance for the local YMCA. I got to spin 45’s for a block party to conclude a week of community cleanup in one of Baltimore’s popular neighbourhoods. It felt like the good old days; think of Grand Master Flash and the like, throwing parties in the park… The set was great and surprisingly well received, although I don’t recommend playing records in the heat of the day. The turntables acted like skillets. Thankfully, we were able to put up a tent which cooled things down drastically. Then there was the wind blowing my 45’s off the platters.

All things considered, I had a great time. The Y corporate people loved it, not to mention the crowd, as feel like I stirred up some of those memories of block parties from back in the day for each of them. With my earnings from said gig, I went on a bit of an unexpected digging spree. As I filed away the new scores, I naturally pulled out some old favourites… Of course it’s no surprise that that prompted me to go through the stacks once again and do another easy chair mix on the fly which was inspired by the aforementioned block party.

01 Summer In The City-Freddie McCoy (Prestige)
02 Spreadin’ Honey-Soul Runners (Mo Soul)
03 The Philly Freeze-Alvin Cash (Mar V Lus)
04 Afro Twist-The Capitols (Karen)
05 Take Five-Willie Mitchell (Hi)
06 Natural Soul Brother-Danny White (Soul Jazz LP track)
07 Karate Boo Ga Loo-Jerry O (Shout)
08 The Pearl-Jerry O (Shout)
09 Something’s Got To Change-Ray Charles (Tangerine)
10 Black Bull-E.J.’s LTD (Back Beat)
11 D R Y-Jimmy Castor (Smash)
12 The Meditation-TNT Band (Cotique)
13 I Can’t Get Next To You-Mongo Santamaria (Atlantic)
14 New Babe (Since I Found You)-Invictus (Rama Rama)
15 Snap Out-The Interpretations (Bell)
16 Do What You Wanna-Ramsey Lewis (Cadet)
17 Lay It On Me-Maurice And Mac (Checker)
18 Wrap It Up-Sam And Dave (Stax)
19 The End Of Our Road-Marvin Gaye (Tamla)
20 Speed Ticket-Inez & Charlie Foxx (Dynamo)
21 Men Are Getting Scarce-Joe Tex (Dial)
22 In The Pocket-The Kingpins (Atco)
23 Psychedelic Shingaling-Lou Courtney (Riverside LP track)
24 Summertime-Billy Stewart (Chess)

Here’s the bonus. And that is primarily because I spent the last day performing major surgery on ol’ bessie. Yes, the time has come to break down and buy a new computer. I am dreading that too. This is an unexpected remake of an old mix I posted wayyyyy back in 2007 which I was compelled to pull out again. I added six extra tracks just because it felt good. Here’s a bit of what I wrote from the original post:

Today’s recipe is dedicated to the anticipated return of the hot summer night. When the grill’s just hot enough for that last sandwich, the wine bottle’s only got a few drops left and everyone’s just sitting around waiting for the radio to play one more classic. I can clearly see the scene of a cookout going well into the midnight hour in the middle of a tight knit neighbourhood. No time to catch last call at the local bar for a quick six pack of not so good beer, so the next best thing is to raid the liquor cabinet for the last few shots from the Christmas party booze the year before. Can you see it? Well that’s when the last guest arrives, loaded to the gills (don’t worry, there’s a designated driver…) bearing the most delicious dessert they can muster and you can fill in the blanks as you see fit. Uh oh, hope nobody calls a cop…


01 The Stepper-Soulful Strings (Cadet)
02 Monkey Dog-O.V. Wright (Back Beat)
03 I Got My Mojo Working Pt. 1-Jimmy Smith (Verve)
04 Flunky Flunky-The Soul Set (B.B.)
05 The Rabbit Got The Gun-The JB’s (People)
06 Pata Pata-Senor Soul (Double Shot)
07 Check Your Bucket Pt. 1 (Bonus Track)-Eddie Bo (Bo-Sound)
08 Wah Wah Man (Bonus Track)-Young-Holt Unlimited (Cotillion)
09 Loose Booty (Bonus Track)-Willie Henderson (Brunswick)
10 What The Problem Is-The Steppers (Aware)
11 Whip It On Me-Alvin Cash (Toddlin’ Town)
12 Funky L.A.-Paul Humphrey And His Cool-Aid Chemists (Lizard)
13 We Got Our Bag-Peggy Scott & Jojo Benson (SSS)
14 Shake A Leg-Jackie Wilson (Brunswick)
15 We Do It All Up In Here-The Fantastic Epics (Soul Patrol reissue)
16 Black Grass-Bad Bascomb (Paramount)
17 Ack A Fool-The Sister And Brothers (Calla)
18 Big Chief Pt. 1-Professor Longhair (Soul Jazz reissue)
19 A Gritty Nitty-The Pazant Brothers (Vanguard)
20 Shotgun Slim-Dyke & the Blazers (Original Sound)
21 It’s The Real Thing Pt. 2-The Electric Express (Linco)
22 Shhhhhhhh (For A Little While)-James Brown (King)
23 Summertime-Clea Bradford (Cadet)
24 Burning Spear (Bonus Track)-The Soulful Strings (Cadet)
25 Duji-Kool & The Gang (De-Lite)
26 Cinnamon And Clove (Bonus Track)-Sergio Mendes & Brasil ’66 (A&M)
27 Bossa Nova-Donny Hathaway (Atco)

Please download and enjoy Block Party.

Part 1,  88 MB and Part 2, 104 MB

and now for the closing commentary… essentially, I will be continuing to repair equipment and gearing up for finals. I am certain that I’ll get to come around again soon, but until then, real life must go on. Here’s hoping that these mixes will serve as the soundtrack for your summertime festivities. Whatever you have planned, be sure to have fun(k) and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

6 thoughts on “There still ain’t no cure (including Block Party parts 1&2)

  1. Will download later but first, many, many thanks for the music and words. Enjoy your summer and do well with your finals. Here’s to you Vincent, your family and all that you do for this community of music lovers everywhere.

  2. hola!

    I’ve been following you for sometime and I really love your mixes, keep on feeding us good musik!

    thanks a lot!
    ~

Leave a Reply

