The After Party Sessions

Hello, kiddies.

Well, it’s been a little over three weeks, and I am confident that I made the Dean’s list again! The Flyers didn’t take the Stanley Cup home, but they played six very exciting (and nail biting) games. Since time is always of the essence however, let’s get the party started.

I was originally going to drop in yesterday, but the hangover I suffered from a night of drinking wine with friends on Saturday sidelined me for the bulk of the day. I can say with a great deal of certainty that this ol’ body just can’t handle the booze like it used to… 🙂 I’ve gotta send big big ups and lots of love to my pal KT, and to all the good folks on hand with whom I broke bread, or should I say cork, since we consumed an estimated two cases of wine…

That little introduction brings me to today’s post, which I dedicate to the memories I have of last Saturday night as a whole. The experience was equal to the after parties we used to go to after a night of consuming cosmopolitans at our favourite watering hole back in the day. The atmosphere was exactly the same; a cozy downtown apartment, good company, and most important, good tunes. Here’s the mix that I debuted at the party.

01 Hot Potato part 1-The Rinky Dinks (Enjoy)
02 Go Head On-The Packers (More Soul)
03 Think-Vicky Anderson feat. James Brown (King)
04 Jungle Strut-Gene Ammons (Prestige)
05 The Gimme Game-Don Covay (Atlantic)
06 A Simple Song-Charles Earland (Prestige)
07 Breakdown-Parliament (Invictus)
08 I Know You Got Soul-Bobby Byrd (King)
09 Soul Party part 1-Bobby WIlliams (REW)
10 No Matter What Sign You Are-Diana Ross & The Supremes (Motown)
11 Bingo-The G.T.+4 (The Groovy Label)
12 Cool Aid-Paul Humphrey & His Cool Aid Chemists (Lizard)
13 Damph F’aint-The Herb Johnson Settlement (Toxsan)
14 Tramp-Lowell Fulsom (Kent)
15 The Name Game-Shirley Ellis (Congress)
16 Hook It To The Mule-Fred Towles & The Jacksonians (Way Out)
17 The Get Down-Harvey Scales & The Seven Sounds (Magic Touch)
18 The Mule-The James Boys (Phil LA Of Soul)
19 Let’s Do Some Good Timing-Alvin Cash & The Registers (Mar V Lus)
20 Do The Thing-Lou Courtney (Riverside)
21 Stop-Howard Tate (Verve)
22 Thigh Spy-The Persuaders (Atco)
23 When I Come Home (bonus track)-The Dap-Kings (Daptone)
24 The Pain Gets A Little Deeper-Darrow Fletcher (The Groovy Label)
25 Good Enough For Me-Spyder Turner (MGM)
26 Percolatin’-Willie Mitchell (Hi)
27 Do The African Twist part 1-The Mad Men (Gamble)
28 Wooden Spoon-Joe Tex (Dial)
29 Charge-The Mod Squad (Tangerine)
30 Souling-Willie & The Mighty Magnificents (All Platinum)

Please download and enjoy The After Party Sessions, 116 MB, again, label scans are included, or head over to my mixcloud page for the on-demand stream.

Now since I’m still just a little sluggish, I’ll just take my leave now. I hope to be back at least once more before the week’s end, primarily because it’s the end of studies for the term and I have but one week to play. We’ll see how things shake out. Until the next time, have fun(k), please be safe, and boycott Beyond Pathetic

Peace and blessings.

4 thoughts on “The After Party Sessions

  1. Not surprising, even after the length of time it took me to get online again, you dazzle with your mixes. What with the Persuaders, The Dap-Kings and Diana Ross, I dare say it’s explosive.

Leave a Reply

