Trying to clean up (including a special original recipe mixtape)

Hello, kiddies.

Once again, life takes its unexpected turns… and the next thing you know it’s three weeks later. Instead of boring you with the details, I’m just gonna try to start this week off on a positive. I am adjusting to a new weekly regimen so this particular post is a radical departure (or a step backward if you will) from what you have grown accustomed to. With a little coaxing from HeavySoulBrutha, and the catastrophe that happened last month when four shelves chock full of vinyl came crashing to the floor (none of them were damaged thank goodness), I bring to you a mammoth 90 minute mix of some deep album cuts, all of which are full length and taken exclusively from my collection of original pressed 33’s (two tracks are taken from reissues). It was recorded almost live with no audio restoration, so expect a few pops, clicks and maybe a skip or two. Some of these records haven’t seen the light of a turntable in many many years. I’d like to dedicate the mix to my uncle Boyd (Thanks for all those wonderful albums, and I hope you get well real soon), and to the memory of PoppaSoulBrutha…

01 Soul A Lujah-Johnny Taylor, Eddie Floyd, William Bell, Pervis, Cleotha and Mavis Staples & Carla Thomas (Stax)
02 Put The Word Out-Heatwave (Epic)
03 Smoke My Peace Pipe, Smoke It Right-The Wild Magnolias (Polydor)
04 Inside Out-American Gypsy (Chess)
05 Funny Shuffle-The Jazz Crusaders (Chisa)
06 Hikky Burr-Quincy Jones feat. Bill Cosby (A&M)
07 Somebody’s Gonna Off The Man-Barry White feat. Love Unlimited (20th Century Fox)
08 Jealous Guy-Donny Hathaway (Atco)
09 Pneumonia-Kool & The Gang (De-Lite)
10 Lord Of The Golden Baboon-Mandrill (Polydor)
11 Half Moon-Fifth Dimension (Bell)
12 Standing On The Verge Of Getting It On-Funkadelic (Westbound)
13 Hair-Graham Central Station (Warner)
14 Westchester Lady-Bob James (CTI)
15 I Get Lifted-KC & The Sunshine Band (T.K.)
16 Maybe I’m Amazed-Sunday’s Child (Reprise)
17 I WIll Find A Way-The Jackson Five (Motown)
18 Pretty Words Don’t Mean A Thing-The New Birth (RCA)
19 I’ll Play The Fool-Dr. Buzzard’s Original Savannah Band (RCA)
20 Adventures In The Land Of Music-Dynasty (Solar)
21 Corazon-Creative Source (Sussex)
22 Expansions-Lonnie Liston Smith and Cosmic Echoes (Bluebird reissue)

You can either download the mp3 file here, or  listen on-demand at my Mixcloud page.

No closing commentary this time around, I’m just gonna get back to work. Things should get back to normal soon, let’s see how things shake out. Until the next time, hve fun(k) and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

4 thoughts on “Trying to clean up (including a special original recipe mixtape)

  1. Great mix, can’t wait to use it as my soundtrack for a work day……on the street, on the subway, in my office until someone rips it off my head to get my attention!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s