Waiting for Fall again (including The Cool Off Sessions)…

“(playing) records cheers me up… whenever I feel low, I (play) some new records..” – Schroeder

Hello, kiddies.

I wish the economy would make it feasible to buy some new records as those famous words from Schroeder actually suggest, but for now I’ll have to settle for the ones already in the pantry. For all intents and purposes, the lion’s share of the tunes in this new 45 rpm exercise have not been used before, so I guess I could say they are new. I was going for a feel-good theme here; something that would help me to sustain through these last dog days of summer. It’s a wonder my vinyl hasn’t melted under the stress. I know I did a couple of times during the really intense days when the mercury pushed 100 degrees… kinda like today! In any event, here is the next batch of 45s like I promised. To coincide with the heat factor, I kept the bpm value between 90 and 100 because there is always a silver lining to be found in every cloud. I cannot WAIT ’til Fall gets here… for so many reasons.


Strut Your Stuff-Tom Scott & The LA Express (Ode)
(You Caught Me) Smiling-Sly & The Family Stone (Epic)
The Look Of Love-Monk Higgins (Chess)
Sweet Inspiration-King Curtis & The Kingpins (Atco)
Tuck’s Theme-Bill Deal & The Rhondels (Heritage)
Hey! Last Miunte-The Meters (Josie)
The Prophet-Jack McDuff (Cadet)
Joy Pt. 1-Isaac Hayes (Enterprise)
Nobody Is Gonna Turn Us Round Pt. 1-Brothers and Sisters (Toddlin’ Town)
So Far So Good-The Impact Of Brass (Rare Earth)
Hard To Handle-Otis Redding (Atco)
Sexy Coffee Pot-Tony Alvon & The Belairs (Atlantic reissue)
Make It Sweet-The HE3 Project (Family Groove)
Sho Is Funky-Hank Crawford (Kudu)
California Soul-Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell (Tamla)
Come On And Get It-Joe Simon (Sound Stage Seven)
Are You Lonely For Me Baby-Freddie Scott (Shout)
I Know Who You Been Socking It To-Isley Brothers (T-Neck)
Lowdown-Three Degrees (Roulette)
Escap-ism Pt. 1-James Brown (People)
Papa Was Too-Joe Tex (Dial)
Get Out Of My Life, Woman-Lee Dorsey (Amy)
Funky Thang-Soul Toranadoes (Burt)
Eighteen Pounds Of Unclean Chitlins Pt. 2-Mel Brown (Impulse)
Ain’t No Sunshine-Eddy Senay (Sussex)

Please enjoy The Cool Off Sessions… You can download the zip file or listen on-demand as always.

I am waiting with baited breath for this year’s installment of vinyl record day next Tuesday, which happens to coincide with my day off… hopefully it will be much cooler, and more important, hopefully I’ll be able to bring something new for all of us. Until then, have fun(k) and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

3 thoughts on “Waiting for Fall again (including The Cool Off Sessions)…

  1. Hi Vincent,
    thanks for the recent posts – on this one, I had never heard the Monk Higgins tracks before – very, very nice indeed.

    Hope things are all good.

    JohnH

  2. It sounds so nice … thnak you very much … I had to lay off your blog for more than a year and coming back I find it’s fully worth to do so.

Leave a Reply

