The AntiDivas must step aside (including You Better Watch The Man)…

Hello again, kiddies.

I bring you Xmas greetings, and that batch of 45’s I promised… I’m sure your festivities were done good… my festivities are rather subdued this year, the missus and I are just chillin’. It’s good to have a respite after all the Xmas hype, but that goes without saying. I’m just glad that it’s finally here. And as far as the New Year goes, well let’s just say that the fufu will continue to be served. More on that later.

You know, all I really want for Xmas (or any day for that matter) is the chance to play some records. I got my wish to a small degree, remember, the holidaze are always busy for some reason or other… I finished another term with glowing grades though, most important, I got a good score in my HTML course. Those results will bear fruit sooner than even I could imagine. Let’s just see how well I use the free time I’m gonna have next week to make those results happen. I’d love to show off my prowess in time for the dawn of the fifth year of this here blog, again, it all depends how real life factors in. Enough with the digression already, Chef, give the kids what they came here for!

For years I’ve wanted to do the male counterpart to the fabled AntiDivas saga. I think I have a good one here after taking it round the block a couple three times, I’m not sure if I like the title though. No tricks, not even a game plan… Just a handful of some sweet soul 45s joined together with no rhyme or reason. Here you go…

as always, listen on-demand.

01 Try My Love Again-Bobby Moore & The Rhythm Aces (Cadet)
02 Uhhh-Dyke & The Blazers (Original Sound)
03 Women Of The World-Lavell Hardy (Rojac)
04 Down Is Up, Up Is Down-The Delfonics (Philly Groove)
05 Keep On Keepin’ On-The Vibrations (Okeh)
06 I’ll Be Good To You-Al Greene (Hot Line Journal)
07 I’d Rather Fight Than Switch-100 Proof Aged In Soul (Hot Wax)
08 Super Fine-The Soul Generation (Ebony Sound)
09 You’ll Soon Be Gone-The Precisions (Drew)
10 Operation Heartache-Lee Dorsey (Amy)
11 That’s If You Want Me To-The Persians (ABC)
12 Be’s That A Way Sometimes-The Scientists Of Soul (Kashe)
13 I Don’t Know How To Say I Love You-The Superlatives (Westbound)
14 Whatcha Gonna Wear Tomorrow-The Detroit Emeralds (Westbound)
15 Needle In A Haystack-The Whispers (Soul Clock)
16 Rose Marie-The Dynamic Tints (Twinight)
17 It Takes Two-The Four Sonics (Sport)
18 Move With The Groove-Bull & The Matadors (Toddlin’ Town)
19 Back Up-The Manhattans (Deluxe)
20 Wild Little Tiger-The Isley Brothers (Atlantic)
21 Night Owl-Howard Tate (Verve)
22 Hello Mama-Willie West (Deesu)
23 Take Me-Bobby Womack (Minit)
24 Let Us Be-King Floyd (Chimneyville)
25 Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out-The Hesitations (Kapp)
26 Down In The Valley-Solomon Burke (Atlantic)
27 Get Your Lie Straight-Bill Coday (Crajon)
28 Aunt Dora’s Love Soul Shack-Arthur Conley (Atlantic)
29 Hey Gyp-The Soul Survivors (Crimson)
30 I Know She’s Mine-The Dynamites (Pay)
31 A Dance A Kiss And A Song-Watts 103rd St. Rhythm Band (Warner)
32 Missing You-O.V.Wright (Back Beat)

As we draw closer to another year that James isn’t here, I’ve been playing a few more JB 45’s than normal as one would readily guess. I know posting an all JB mix can be a little sketchy because it’s been done to death to quote a phrase. I’ll give it the old college try. Who knows, it may turn out good… In any event, I’m gonna do my best to prioritise my time for the next week and a half before the new term begins which, if I do it right, will see the next phase of this blog’s overhaul. Remember, if you find a dead link and want it re-upped, let me know because more than likely those old posts (and poorly maintained subpages) will disappear when the overhaul is done. Until the next time, have fun(k), and as always, please be safe, especially during the holidaze. Don’t forget to do whatever you do good though 🙂

Peace and blessings.

2 thoughts on “The AntiDivas must step aside (including You Better Watch The Man)…

  1. heya I have been downloading your great mixes for ages and mucho enjoyed them,though never commented on them but having lived with this one for a few weeks ,GODDAM how good ,I thought i had a fairly good overview of funky shit but I have never heard nearly 90 percent of these and they are awesome,thank you, thank you for a great night,of swinging hips and shenanigins we LOVED it xx Stu

Leave a Reply

