Don’t Mess With Cupid!

Hello, kiddies.

Finally, some new 45’s were given a good home! It only took ten months to get down to the fire house, but I made the journey on Sunday and brought home over 150 pieces. Some gems, some common… some minty fresh, some hammered. Overall, it was a very fruitful digging session… Now we come to the payoff…

I wanted to join in on Rhythms in Black Satin’s 4th annual Cupid’s Hunt, but real life set in yet again. Oh well, like my pal Mr. Grundy says… everyday is Valentine’s Day!!! I know I am a lot late, but better late than never… After everything settled down, I ended up having a great weekend, spent with my beloved Leslie and that aforementioned huge stack of newly acquired 45’s. Here’s just a few of them, once again assembled on the fly. In keeping with the theme, all the tunes contain some element of love in the lyric. Essentially, they speak for themselves, so sit back and enjoy. NOTE: A few minor technical flaws were discovered after the upload was complete (track 19 in specific). I wish I had time to fix them, but I really don’t. It doesn’t help matters that my desktop took another shit, which I won’t be able to address until after March. I don’t think it shouldn’t hamper your listening experience too much though…

As always, on-demand right here…

01 Under The Influence Of Love-Love Unlimited (20th Century Fox)
02 I Wish It Would Rain-Marvin Gaye (Tamla)
03 I’m Sick Y’all-Otis Redding (Volt)
04 I’ve Got To Find Myself A Brand New Baby-David Ruffin (Motown)
05 La La For You-Al Green (Hi)
06 Hey Love-Stevie Wonder (Tamla)
07 Don’t Leave Me Starving For Your Love-Holland/Dozier (Invictus)
08 Love Insurance-Gwen McRae (Cat)
09 Unh Song-New Birth (RCA)
10 All I Need Is His Love-The Raeletts (Tangerine)
11 Since I Lost My Baby-The Temptations (Gordy)
12 Love Eye Tis-Judy Clay & William Bell (Stax)
13 I’m Living WIth A Memory-Barbara Acklin (Brunswick)
14 It’s How You Make It Good-Laura Lee (Chess)
15 Sitting In The Park-Billy Stewart (Chess)
16 I Only Meant To Wet My Feet-The Whispers (Janus)
17 Walk On By-Isaac Hayes (Enterprise)
18 Give Me Your Love-Barbara Mason (Buddah)
19 The Same Love That Made Me Laugh-Bill Withers (Sussex)
20 You’re Losing Me-Ann Sexton (Seventy Seven)
21 Don’t Mess With Cupid-Otis Redding (Volt)

Thanks to Mr. Grundy for inviting me to join in the fun… I really wish I hadn’t been fashionably late though lol!! Just the same, please visit and support his lovely website, Rhythms in Black Satin. There you’ll find all of the goodness that happened over the last week, including a few love type mixtapes that could very well be the soundtrack for your next intimate moment.

I really did buy a bazillion new 45s, so I may be back sooner than you think. Until the next time, have fun(k) and as always, please be safe.

Peace and blessings.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Mess With Cupid!

Leave a Reply

