Another AntiDivas Special…

Hello kiddies.

I’ve been a little under the weather the past couple of days nursing a brutal bout of sinus headaches, but I do have something very special to share with you. To get you all warmed up for the HeavySoulBrutha’s month long Soul Sistas celebration coming in October, I’ve unearthed another piece of AntiDivas history that is just dying to see the light of reissue.

fullshotfront.jpg

One of the best ever live recordings was released in 1978 by Natalie Cole, hot on the heels of her biggest hit single of the day “Our Love”. This is a mix of performances from her 1977-78 US tour, recorded just weeks before she was to give birth to her first child. You would never tell that she was pregnant by listening to the sheer power of her voice backed by an incredible rhythm section as they just tear through the hits from her first four albums, as well as some very deep cover tunes.

insidescan2.jpg

Here’s your chance to get one really hard to find record, so act fast… Again I make a plea to the powers that be to give this one a proper reissue, because I can think of lots of things to do with $400. (UPDATE: Looks like someone found something to do with $400. All gone,kids…)

insidescan1.jpg

Please download and enjoy Natalie… Live! This is a two album set ripped from the original vinyl and enclosed in a .zip file, 125 MB.

I’m sending this one out to the good folks at My Favourite Sound. Once again, their kind words (not to mention the enormous influx of new patrons) are greatly appreciated. I also want to send a shoutout to the good sister Lily Kane. I told you I had a surprise for ya 😉

Once I get back to 100% healthwise, I’ll be hard at work in the kitchen whipping up some new batches of soulful goodness for your aural consumption. In the meantime, be sure to drop by Scholar’s place and pick up on the latest guest post submitted by none other than the mighty Larry Grogan, and while you’re waiting for the Soul Sistas celebration at the HeavySoulBrutha’s spot, check out his latest high quality batch of timeless funk and soul classics. I’m off to get some much needed rest, but I hope to be up to snuff by Sunday. Enjoy your weeekend and as always, be safe.

Peace and blessings.

11 thoughts on “Another AntiDivas Special…

  1. Whoahh!!! I just found this record two days ago at a Slavation Army Thrift Store for $1. It’s in near mint condition. I’m pretty stunned. I had no idea it was THAT rare. I just thought it’d be sweet for the SoulSistas Celebration. I love me some Natalie, and especially her 70’s output. Guess I better take good care of this one, huh?

    Thanks so much for all the hype. I owe loads to you for continuing to be an inspiration and sending folks my way. You’re one cool cat!!!

    Folks, do yourself a favour and check this record out. It’s definitely a groovy affair.

    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave…

  2. Very thanks for the nice dedicatory! We appreciate your faboulous blog and for us it is a strong musical reference…and…you are the patron here on the bloguniversum!!!
    Peace&Happiness.
    JazzyPier

  3. thanks for posting this one Dave. i remember when EMI released this one the low-budget One Way imprint some years back. i should have bought it then (and it was so cheap, too!). here’s hoping Capitol or someone comes to their senses, because this is one of my top live albums of all time.

  4. You’re very welcome Darrius, however it was I, not Dave who posted the LP. He runs http://www.heavysoulbrutha.com , and what a fine site it is.
    I also remember when One Way reissued the old catalog as well, and just like you, I passed them up at less than ten bucks each. Oh well, my vinyl is still in great shape in the meantime. It does suck that the major labels pass on such great recordings for reissue in favour of such forgettable ones.

  5. Pingback: Come and get it… Fufu Stew No. 9 « Fufu Stew

  6. Are Natalie Cole Vinyl LP’s really that rare? I bought her 2nd – 4th LPs as a kid and kept pretty good care of them. Guess i better check my basement to see how they are doing

Leave a comment